We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond”

Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: America's only all-water cavern & farm-nature-wildlife park. The only cave in Pennsylvania placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Three fully-guided tours: *Cavern tour only by boat (Not handicapped accessible: Open Feb-Dec) *Farm-nature-wildlife park tour by tour bus Open April-Nov) *Off-road mountain tour (June-Nov, advance reservation only-limited availability for this special tour) Miners Maze, gemstone panning, Visitors Center, gift shop, Cave Cafe Free Parking
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Meyersdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We arrived at Penns cave just in time to take the last cave trip. We had wanted to experience the wildlife trip also but we wouldn't of had enough time to take both trips. The manager at Penns Cave went above and beyond and had one of his staff stay late so we could experience both trips. They were awesome and we really appreciated the kindness of the Penns Cave crew. You are all great. Thanks again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pepsi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    154
    33
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it! Best of many!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I have toured many underground caverns and found this one to be one of my favorite. Its the only one I have toured that is totally by boat! Very unique and fun.
The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Answered all our questions with no problems. A great attraction for all ages.. as long as you don't mind a rough walk back up the stairs and hill! Phew!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelize1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freelton, Ontario
Level Contributor
182 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great stop for an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We picked because a cave trip by boat sounded interesting. It was more, the wildlife ride was great and the guide Sara was great. The wolves were something we had ever seen before and quite amazing. The boat ride in the cave was fun and well worth it. The guide was a little stiff and was following the script.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We bring all our out-of-town guests here. Very cool to see a cave by boat. Fun activities and animal park. If you have time, do it all! The cafe is even quite good, focusing on local food(s) and healthy. Husband loves the Bison buger. Show up early though, Penn State area generates many students and families in the summer who are also trying to do these activities. Plan on waiting several hours for a tour if you don't call ahead or get there really early.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great experience under and above ground.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The boat ride through the save was very cool. As in fun, entertaining, and temperature. No matter how hot it is outside that cave is cool and crisp. The boats are small but not too crowded even when full. The guide was informative and entertaining throughout the entire cave. When we popped out the other side we got to wave to a bus going by along the roads of the wildlife park.

The bus ride through the wildlife park was great. All of the animals were present and had so much room to roam about and seemed well taken care off. The guide was informative and fun. You also get to walk through a landscaped butterfly garden and a couple indoor exhibits. They used to door a tour by plane but had ceased that attraction years ago. When we arrived back we had lunch in their little cafe and the longhorn burger was absolutely delicious.

I can not wait to go back another day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonofbaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Penn's Cave & Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing