We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Back in Time”
Review of Cedar Run Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cedar Run
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Run Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cedar Run B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This inn is a throw back to the way inns were years ago. Only 2 rooms with air conditioning and you go down the hall to take a shower. Having said that, it is a very neat experience and one everyone should enjoy. It is very much out of the way and a place for relaxing, bike riding, hiking or tubing in the river. The owners treat you like family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed at the Cedar Run Inn as a stopping point on our bike trip along the Pine Creek Trail. It is truly a trip back in time to when life was slower and people had time to sit on a porch and visit with friends or linger at a meal without the distractions of tv or telephones. We found the Inn to be very well maintained and clean even though it must be over 100 years old. The owners and staff are very accommodating and friendly. Dinner and breakfast as part of the package price for an overnight stay are excellent and overall a very good value. We enjoyed very much watching the numerous hummingbirds feeding just outside the dining room windows and the special treat of seeing the resident bald eagle perched in the trees across Pine Creek from the Inn. It was a memorable visit and we would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rooms are nice. Most have shared bath. Beware of the room with the "toilet and sink"......they're 4 feet from the bed! Restarurant is nice. Food is good. The Dinner-room-breakfast package is a great deal. Its fun watching the hummingbirds from the dining room. Employees are delightful. Lots of clutter in the restaurant, sitting room, bedrooms......but its interesting clutter. The place is immaculate. Cash or checks only. Great place to get away from it all and feel like its 1955 again!!

Room Tip: Don't take the room with "a toilet and sink."....unless you're alone or you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed before at the Cedar Run Inn. This was our second stay at the Inn. Both stays have been wonderful. My husband and I love the location of the Inn. The historic atmosphere of the Inn is what helps to make it so special. This Inn was built in the 1800's. The first time we stayed, the Hummingbirds entertained us during our breakfast. The most recent stay in March was a winter wonderland. While the tree's on the mountains are resting, nature is still creating a masterpiece. Natural ice sculptures abound along the trails. An Eagle soared over Pine Creek during our breakfast. Pine Creek itself was beautiful with its large chunks of ice. In the evening after our hike, we sat by the woodstove to warm our toes and have a cup of coffee. Our dinner was excellent. The dinner atmosphere was extremely intimate. We sat at a candle lit table looking out at Pine Creek. We found ourselves ready to retire early. Our room was fine. If you desire a grand room this is not the place for you. The rooms are clean comfortable and warm. This is an historic Inn. Not a luxury B + B. Don't go there looking for that. Go there for the beauty, relaxation, nature, fine food, hiking, biking, kayaking ect.....We found the owners and waitress's to be warm, friendly, and hospitable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonseygibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

What a delightful surprise. We made reservations for the early diner seating. The meal was very well prepared and leisurely. As it is all cooked on site, it does take a while, but from appetizer to dessert the experience was wonderful. Business was a bit slow (March) and we were offered a tour of the hotel. It is charming, like you stepped back in time. We are thinking of making an opportunity to stay a night or two and just enjoy a night away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I think I would pick sometime that was not the "busy" season which would be Trout or Leaf Looking. Perhaps....March? I would highly recommend dining there. The food and the service were extremely good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a lovely first class dinner at the inn with friends. And a highlight was the hummingbirds that came right up to the window during our dinner. The food was excellent! The inn is right by the rail to trail bike trail too! We love this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ephratamyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I used to come here with my family as a kid, and my wife and I stayed as part of a short getaway. On the plus side, the area is beautiful, and the inn does have a certain charm to it. Being able to walk along Pine Creek, or the rail trail, is a very pleasant experience, as was breakfast in the morning with numerous hummingbirds fluttering to the feeders on the windows. And the price of the "room only" is reasonable. But the room- and bed- were small and cramped. Maybe this is what they mean by "cozy" but it lead to rather uncomfortable nights. Breakfast was very plain, few choices, and dinner- which we chose to do only one of the nights- just wasn't that great, especially for the price. Their website also states that the dining room is not necessarily open everyday, so I guess on those days its a B&B without the breakfast? Finally, although our waitress/server each morning was very friendly and personable, the inn keepers themselves weren't real engaging. Not that they were rude or negative- they just seemed distant or preoccupied. Maybe it was just a bad couple of days for them, but in a "country inn" you expect a certain degree of hospitality. It was nice to go back and relive old memories, but it would have been nicer to have made more new ones.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanangankaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Run Inn

Address: 281 Beulahland Rd, Cedar Run, PA 17727-7703
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cedar Run
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cedar Run
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing