We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not great”
Review of Pho Kim 88

Pho Kim 88
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
1 review
“OK, not great”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were there on a Friday evening with another couple. The waitress took our order of four appetizers, and they arrived fairly promptly. None of the appetizers was memorable, and the mussels with garlic sauce were not anything like I anticipated. The waitress continued to ignore our attempts to get her attention to order our dinners, and she made no attempt to come to our table to take our order. We practically had to reach out and touch her to get her attention. Meanwhile, the patrons at the table next to ours had finished their dinner and left, and their remains sat on the table throughout our entire visit. My husband ordered crispy duck, and it was more like "burnt duck." I ordered the hibachi and it was tasty, but I had an unbearable MSG headache the following day.our friend said that she would consider getting take out or returning there on a less busy night, but we will not be visiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places...sushi, hibachi, pad Thai...excellent! ”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great sushi and dinners. We go there or get take out at least once per month.

Their sushi is fresh. They just created new rolls on the menu...each time we go back, I try a new one. We have never been disappointed with their sushi.

Chicken fried rice and the Pad Thai are amazing. Our favorite dinner is the hibachi steak dinner. It has generous portions. The lunch version is just as good, just smaller portions and no soup or shrimp appetizer. The Seafood Diablo is also extremely good...spicey too. I also like their wonton soup. Their ginger dressing for their salad is light and tasty.

If you like fresh spring rolls in peanut dipping sauce, theirs are delicious. They also have a vietnamese rice noodle dish with peanut, basil - also excellent.

They recently remodeled and created new additional seating. It is very nice. The staff are very friendly. The restrooms are clean and nice. The owner is usually around too and very pleasant man.

If you in the neighborhood, give them a try.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Went there with my daughter for a lunch. The sushi and veggie roll were very good. The main courses were at least as good as the sushi. Large portions and great quality. Try thr Thai ice tea it is a real treat. Give it a chance you wont regret it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAYMOND B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi- great staff!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food at Pho Kim 88 is amazing and the staff is very nice! The sushi is out of this world! I think it is wonderful! This place really knows how to prepare a beautiful dish! The chef carves turnip into a beautiful rose and places it on your dish! It is such a beautiful, elegant touch! The cost is relatively minimal for the quality and I just love this place! In fact, one time my dad and I went to see what time they opened and the owner let us in 30 minutes early! What PHENOMENAL customer service!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty Vietnamese food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

First visit to Pho Kim and really enjoyed it. You can order sushi and Chinese, but why would you do that at a place that takes pride in it's Vietnamese cuisine? My wife had the Pho, and I had a Seafood variation of it. Both were delicious, with ample amounts of noodles and beef or seafood. I was warned that mine would be spicy, but I didn't detect any spice--easily fixed by adding a dash of Siracha sauce. Service was excellent and delightful, with everything explained, and suggestions all paid off. Spring Rolls were great. Mango smoothie with tapioca pearls was sublime. Real fruit and pearls had a great taste. BYOB. Only negative would be two TVs playing, but you can sit in an area to avoid them, if you'd like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuttidirezioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Kim 88 also viewed

Mount Lebanon, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
Castle Shannon, PA
 

Been to Pho Kim 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing