We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Evilgypsy
Hopelawn, New Jersey

New owners are doing this historic inn the justice it deserves!

Review of Cashtown Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 24, 2022
My husband (a civil war buff) has always wanted to stay here. We have followed the new owners journey and couldn't wait for it to re-open. We were not disappointed! Jeremy and Danielle are the sweetest couple. The room (AP Hill) was clean, bright and comfortable! All the amenities needed for your stay. There was no TV but give me a cool evening rocking in the chairs on the front porch enjoying nature any day!
The Inns parlor is a great place to relax and the general store has the cutest things! Jeremy was super knowledgeable about the inns history and the tour of the basement was creepy and cool! The restaurant is not open yet but Jeremy is an excellent cook. The breakfast was delicious! He uses local meats (bacon, sausage, scrapple) that was so outstanding we had to go the butcher and bring some back to NJ! :) I highly recommend this Inn, the owners "are doing it right!"
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Wyndham
    $85
  • Lol.travel
    $80
  • Hotels.com
15.3 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
RPACHExterior
$75
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $75
15.3 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $69
  • Algotels
15.5 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$116
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    $116
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
15.4 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$106
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $106
  • Hotels.com
    $106
15.2 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$69
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $69
  • Hotels.com
15.3 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$70
$67
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $67
  • Priceline
    $67
  • Expedia.com
    $67
19.7 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $60
  • Wyndham
    $64
15.7 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $106
  • Skyscanner.com
    $104
  • Expedia.com
    $106
15.0 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$79
$67
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Hotels.com
    $75
  • Expedia.com
    $75
  • Priceline
    $79
14.8 miles from Cashtown Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cashtown
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
232
20
18
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
232
20
18
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill room lee suite general lee civil war enjoy history front porch historical significance historic place ghost hunting place to stay when visiting wonderful hosts breakfast was delicious lots of history next morning rocking chairs two room suite felt like home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 293 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2022

We wanted to start our Gettysburg experience at the Cashtown Inn as it it plays a part in the early morning hours of July 1 1863 when Confederate troops moved down this road past the Cashtown Inn on their way to Gettysburg. We wanted to follow that same path in our exploration of Gettysburg so we spent a couple nights in June 2022 and started out early retracing the steps of A P Hill and Robert E Lee. So the history is great and enhanced by Danielle and Jeremy and their care of the Inn and knowledge of what happened here 159 years ago. The tavern is closed but the breakfast is so good. Scrapple, bacon and eggs, pancakes, and more. So good. Danielle and Jeremy are the best. This is a very old historic building so don't expect vending machines and ESPN. Enjoy the history and hospitality. 5 stars!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrfreeborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 31, 2022

We stayed in the General Robert E. Lee Suite or as I like to refer to it.."Sam Elliott's room." The air conditioner was a bit loud for us to be able to really hear noises in the room, but we definitely heard some. (The A/C was great, BTW!) We were greeted by knocks on the wall numerous times. My sister heard bootsteps during the night and quite a few times woke up to a feeling that someone was by her side of the bed. I had put a few coins in different places and asked the spirits to please move them. Nothing happened that night, but I went to the desk and saw that two pennies were in different spots...one an inch above where it was originally, and the other was missing. :)

The owners are just wonderful. They are very fun, and we loved hearing the history of the hotel and area and, of COURSE the paranormal stories. I can't wait to come back again sometime in the fall.

Room tip: In the General Robert E. Lee Suite you won't hear anyone in the other rooms as far as I could tell.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 639debrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2022 via mobile

This is pure history: the beauty, setting, civil war stories, even ghosts. What fun! New owners Danielle and Jeremy educated us as to the real importance the Inn had during the Gettysburg conflict. Our room was decorated true to the era but had current amenities including AC, refer/fridge, etc.
Newly redecorated perfectly. Clean as a whistle. Owners on call for any need. Breakfast served with local fare- delicious!
Great future for this venue. A few minutesfrom town but worth every penny.
You can rock on the front porch and envision Robert E Lee and all his generals congregating here before the next days battle.
Highest recommendation!

Room tip: Plenty of parking, gift shop,
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lermndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 8, 2022

The historic Cashtown Inn's new caretakers (Jeremy and Danielle) are steadfast in returning the Inn to it's prominent place of historic importance in the Gettysburg Campaign. They have been working tirelessly to bring the Inn back to life and to think that as a guest you are walking the same floors as the Confederate military elite, is something to behold.

Jeremy and Danielle are presently working on the kitchen and dining areas. This means that unfortunately, the only dining provided at this time is the breakfast for the Bed and Breakfast patrons - the meats are locally supplied by Bucher Meats of Cashtown, PA. YUMMY. There is a shop at the Inn. Keep an eye on the Inn's social media pages for updates.

There are 7 bedrooms, each named after a prominent military leader of the Campaign, each is en-suite and air conditioned. Check to see which rooms have refrigerators and TV's if you can't unplug. For us, sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs was just what we needed. Jeremy and Danielle are both a wealth of knowledge on the Inn and are learning more and more as time goes on. They do ask if you have something that you know about the Inn's history please let them know.

One thing I will add, there are no vending machines outside, this is a Historic Inn and is not in the middle of a town the size of Gettysburg. There is a Dollar General very close to get snacks and such. There is also dining a short drive away.

We had some wonderful conversations with other guests.

Date of stay: April 2022
2  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 27, 2022

First, some details.. The ownership of the Inn changed Aug/Sep 2021. Any (bad) reviews prior to that are on the previous owner. I visited Apr 2022 and the new owners (Jeremy & Danielle) are GREAT! They are friendly, and love talking about the history of the place and are more than happy to show you around and give you a tour during your stay. Breakfast is great! Couple of things to be aware of. All rooms are air conditioned, currently they are only serving breakfast in the restaurant (by the way, its an awesome breakfast!). Someone complained about no vending machines. Well its a historic place and there is not really a lot of room for that kind of stuff. However, there is a Dollar General just out on RT30 (5 mins away) that has all the 'things' you might need. Or just make sure you stock up before checking in. Hint: Sitting out on the porch drinking coffee in the morning is a great relaxing way to get your day started. Its nice to not be in the middle of Gettysburg where it can get crazy at times. Make sure you take lots of pictures, you never can tell what your camera might capture! 8^)

Date of stay: April 2022
2  Thank lf479
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews