We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous grounds and facilities but rooms need freshening up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous grounds and facilities but rooms need freshening up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a larger group for a family reunion. The facilities for handling large parties is very good. The outdoor patio, pool, and overall grounds are very accomodating and comfortable. Also, the catered food was very good and the staff was attentive and pleasant. My only small complaint is that the Starbucks in the hotel is not open in the summer.
The rooms are average. When making the reservation, I requested a king room but got a room with double beds and was told there were no more rooms left. The bathroom is a good size and was clean. The shower head was pretty bad but not a huge deal. The carpet and bed spreads in the room needed to be replaced. They seemed old, stained, and/or worn. Also, the pillows are in desperate need of replacement. They are lumpy and uncomfortable. The bed itself was comfortable. Also, each room has a small balcony which is nice. The hotel has wi-fi as well.
The free continental breakfast was good. It included bagels, english muffins, muffins, cereal, fruit, pastries, oatmeal, donuts, coffee, and juice. All was perfect except for the juice - it was watered down each morning and tasted bad. There is also coffee every morning in the hotel lobby.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The location is great (15 minutes outside of Gettysburg) and the facilities/grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blr0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

I took my son to Gettysburg last weekend. After looking at many hotels in the area, Liberty Mountain was offering an off-season special, so I booked it. After a 10 hour drive, I was very pleasantly pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was fine - very clean. The breakfast was fine and the mountains and hills are beautiful. The trip into Gettysburg was about 7 - 10 minutes and an easy drive. The contrast of visiting Gettysburg but staying outside of it was very nice. I would recommend this hotel, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl46628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We went for a wedding and while the reception area was nice, it was obvious that the resort has not updated the hotel for a long time. This wouldnt have been so bad however the price was ridiculious for what you are getting. The rooms were so small and smelled bad. There was no mini fridge or microwave which seems to be the standard for most places. The views were great. The staff was tuff on rules tho. It is a cool place for retired people BUT MY COUSINS AND I ARE 15-20 AND IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE RESORT IS NOT CATERING TO THE YOUNGER GENERATION FOr these reasons, I would not go back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocmdtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Our third visit to Carroll Valley for Valentines and will be our last one. We paid 320 a night which included Asti sparkling wine, 5 chocolate strawberries, dinner for 2 and a room located next to screaming children all night. I understand this resort caters to families since its next door to Ski Liberty, but when a Romantic Valentines Package is advertised you would think they would have the Parlor Rooms next door to couples only. There should be someone at the entrance to stop people from parking in the lot who are going to Ski Liberty and not staying at the resort, really don't like driving and driving for 1/2 hour trying to get a parking spot. The dinner overall was good but the past 2 years it was far better, including the service. It was a good time with my spouse but next year I think we will pass on this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaribbeanJacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel had local charm and polite personnel working. It didn't have that Scottsdale, Florida or Myrtle beach extra polish... but it was a clean and fun place to huddle with the guys for a golf trip!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichobemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2009

Upon checking in we knew that we had picked the right place. The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. They offered several weekend packages, we choose the golf package. It was a great value for the costs. We had unlimited golf on two 18-hole courses, the room, breakfast and dinner, a golf cart, club storage, and practice time. They also gave be a discount since the person I was traveling with was a non-golfer.

I will come here again. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidtmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda,MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

My ski partner and I took advantage of this hotel's promo for $169 a room (ski lift for night skiing, one night at hotel, voucher for breakfast, next day's rentals and lift tickets, parking until 12nn next day). Location is excellent, just steps from rental office, and ski lifts. We even got slope view from our hotel room. Room had no fridge and wireless internet connection was erratic.

O

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
3.9 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Property: Liberty Mountain Resort
Address: 78 Country Club Trl, Carroll Valley, PA 17320-8550
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing