We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“A great destination”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The immaculate appealing accommodations were only outdone by the super friendliness of the staff. Bring your walking/jogging shoes - the surroundings are terrific and the historic nature of the area makes for a most memorable visit

Room Tip: no need to choose - they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
21
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Attended a golf outing at this resort and was generally pleased with the hotel and loved the course. Food was average at best.We found the breakfast buffet to be limited. Dinner offerings were good for a group package but did not think the steak quality was acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here an all inclusive 5 day conference, with all meals and breaks included. I had a suite which was clean with a nice view over the golf course. There are no elevators, so I had to carry my suitcase up and down the stairs. The decor is standard. Instead of glasses, they had plastic cups and it felt more like a motel than a lodge. I stepped out on my balcony and the door slammed behind me locking me out. So, I had to call out to someone on the golf course (thank goodness someone was there) to be rescued. There was no way to unlock the door, so I needed to prop it open when I was outside.

The bed was very uncomfortable, particularly the hard pillows. The shower was a cheap plastic stall and very small, with no where to put my shampoo and other items. The air conditioner is extremely loud and the temperature controls do not appear to work. There is a small coffee pot in the room.

The breakfast buffet was not very good, lunch was better and dinner was very good. The breaks were also good, but they removed them really fast. The staff are friendly and helpful. While not a bad place for a conference, I've been at better conference facilities.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
277 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

All the staff were very pleasant, very helpful, and very eager to please. The facilities are quite nice. The food is quite good. And, it's set in a beautiful location. Air conditioners in the rooms are a bit loud, and may wake you up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kccarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A bunch of us stayed on the golf course side of the resort during ski season. The front desk staff, the ski staff and the house keepers were all very friendly and nice. The standard rooms are on the smaller side but they were clean and updated. We paid for the ski and stay package which was rather expensive when when we could barely get any skiing done because of their snow makers. We did not realize that the snow makers were going to be on the entire time. We had never skiied with snow makers and my only experience with skiing were all in Lake Tahoe, CA where it's gorgeous and on big mountains). It was causing blizzard conditions with the ice blowing into our faces. We had to take breaks often because the conditions were so miserable. The bunny hills were good and long so it's great for the beginners (had the conditions were better). The breakfast (included in the package) and the lunch were below average (read disgusting) and too expensive (as expected). In all I probably would not pay to stay over night again but drive over for the day and bring my own food.

Room Tip: There are mountain side rooms as well but I didn't see the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was an excellent wedding reception destination. I highly recommend booking this resort for your wedding reception, ballroom, dance floor, and food and catering needs. The grounds are beautiful. The ballroom is very romantic and spacious. The food is excellent. The waiters and waitresses are kind and polite. The rooms are very nice and cozy as well. Very new and well kept. This is the place to hold a wedding reception or any large scale or major event. Great stay!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was an OK experience. Was here during October for an event, so no skiing to be had. Not much to do on site if you aren't a golfer. Gettysburg is 10 minutes away though.

Rooms were pretty bland, especially for the higher than expected price. Bed was terrible - double bed and hard. Ammenities are pretty much non-existant. Rooms aren't very quiet either - there's shared balconies with a glass door so if anyone is outside, you may as well join the conversation.

Brightest spot was breakfast...outstanding food and choices. Bar is nice on site and pretty cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
3.9 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
408 reviews
11.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
999 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
8.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Property: Liberty Mountain Resort
Address: 78 Country Club Trl, Carroll Valley, PA 17320-8550
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing