We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Swimming pool was a selling point!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Swimming pool was a selling point!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here while we visited the Gettysburg area. A bit of a drive in (about 20 min), but well worth it. During the winter the place is a ski resort. During our off time, my kids were in the pool. I loved being able to swim in the pool, keep an eye on my kids, and have a great view of the mountains. Breakfast was great! Staff bent over backwards to be of help. Our family is thinking about returning to snow ski in the near future. Not a huge amount of ammenities, but sufficient for what we needed. Certainly worth a look!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigwahlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark DE
Level Contributor
212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for two days for a wedding in warm weather. Beautiful setting but no walking paths and, other than gold and a swimming pool, not much to do. Rooms clean and good size. Housekeeping very good. Parking a bit odd-parking lot not adjacent to hotel rooms, and no path to walk from lot to hotel. Breakfast buffet ok, but nothing special though the coffee was very good.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the gold course. Good view though golfers, after finishing and before starting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDELIWEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Room very spacious and nice. Seemed recently redone. Beautiful view of golf course. Ate dinner at restaurant at bottom of the hill called Taverna...very good. Saturday my husband golfed...said it was a great course. Breakfast at Tavern on the Green was included both mornings..nice food options to chose from. Would definitely consider going back in the winter with our kids to ski.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
308 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on superbowl sunday. Report said frozen granular. We skied 2 runs on slush, nicknamed " mash potatoes". Horrible. Saw other slopes from lift that were "open". They had places where the trail was 90% mud. Could not believe these nearly bare slopes could be open. Took a refund after 2 runs. Don't even consider Liberty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BandwagonPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night (really more like a motel) while my son and I skied for two days. We stayed in a second floor room facing the slopes.
First, the good...it was close to the slopes. We just walked out from our room to the slopes in our boots. The staff was also very friendly. The free breakfast was good.

Since the room faced into the main "square", it was noisy all day long. The speakers were blaring loud music from morning until around 10 PM. Even with the sliding door closed, it was still a little too noisy to relax in the room. The room itself was pretty basic. There was a new flat-panel TV but no refrigerator. The complex had very minimal amenities.

If it wasn't for the location, we would not stay here again...but it is hard to beat the convenience.

Room Tip: If tranquility is important to you, stay in the rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixpackDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent island,md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Price of room and tubing were fair. If you are taking kids, try to bring drinks and at least snacks, on site restaurant is pretty pricey for adult drinks, bring a cooler or use mini fridge. Rooms recently done in golf side hotel. Every single employee on every single level was exceptional, rare to find and they cater to whatever makes your experience best. Nice place, superior service

Room Tip: Golf side hotel just redone
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We think Liberty resort is great for a skiing family looking for a short and convenient ski getaway. For us, it was an hour-and-a-half easy drive up from VA.

The hotel room we had was very basic, and lacked a fridge (most other rooms seem to have one). But we had a view of the mountain, clean and spacious bathroom, and enough room for 2 adults and a roll-away bed for our 3 year old. We had 2 full size beds + roll-away, balcony with view, TV, alarm clock, hair dryer in the room. No coffee maker or M/V, but there is always coffee and tea available in the lobby. Next year, we will opt for one of the larger rooms, with king bed, offered by the hotel.

Wish our room had more shelves/hooks to spread out the ski clothes that needed some drying. Shower head was kind of blah - as far as pressure and amount of water out of it, but bathroom was nice otherwise.

Beds were comfortable to sleep on, but one person at the time – we prefer larger beds, so 2 full size beds for 2 adults suited us better than one queen.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and very nice, genuinely caring for the well-being of their guests.

As guests, we got 10% off lift tickets and rentals, which is helpful.

Breakfast buffet (included with the room) had great selection of hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, potatoes, etc), plus fruit, juice, cereal or toast. There are generally 2 dining options on-site, and a large food court-type (also the breakfast area) that serves lunch till about 4PM.

Snowmaking and the fact you can ski from 8-9 AM till 10 PM (great lights on the slopes!) turned our 3-nights stay into what felt like at least 5-6 nights with skiing.

Our kid was too young to enjoy ski lessons, which they start at 4 yo (later than we found at other bigger resorts in VT and CO), but we took him on the "bunny slopes" ourselves, and he just loved to ski!

In all, it is a basic and comfortable hotel, and if you know how to have fun in the snow – you will have a good time staying here!

Room Tip: Slope side: you will hear music playing outside until about 10-11 PM, but it has a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L-Bolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
3.9 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#16 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Property: Liberty Mountain Resort
Address: 78 Country Club Trl, Carroll Valley, PA 17320-8550
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing