We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Review”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've been staying at this hotel ever week for nine months general manager Brad Shah and he's staff fast and nice. The rooms are clean and neat and cleaning staff does a good job. Outdoor pool is clean. They really need to get a on site gym.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeway17013, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you Jamie, I truly appreciate your mentioning the facts about our hotel., without it we are unable to work towards bettering our property to exceeds expectations and comforts of our guests. I will definitely relay your thoughtful sentiments to our dedicated and hard working colleagues here. I will look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Brad Shah, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I normally make reservations when traveling, but I didn't know where I was going to stop, so I took a chance on finding a place to stay. The Rodeway was convenient and definitely not crowded, it being nine o'clock on a cold Sunday night. I happened to pick up a motel coupon book along the way and it turned out this Rodeway was in the book. Price a little less than $40. Since this was the least I've paid in years, I hesitated to see the room, but I should not have worried.

Turns out that the room was clean, had no odors, had all the usual accouterments, and the heat worked very well. The bed was lumpy but I found a good spot in it and slept through the night. I didn't use the shower, but noted that it was a one-piece tub and shower that was fairly new and clean. As a matter of fact, everything in the room was fairly new except the two chairs at the table. They were unsteady and one of them had been crudely repaired.

Breakfast was not bad. I was surprised to get any breakfast at all, considering the price. It featured a waffle maker, cereals, two kinds of toast, coffee and juices.

The only problem was the electronic door key. It didn't work because the door lock needed a new battery. After a couple of trips to the office, I was switched to another room. And, by the way, the room was not handicapped accessible. There was about a four-inch step to get in the door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bltzflk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeway17013, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Sir, Thank you very much for your positive comments. I appreciate your time taken. I lookforward to see you again.

Sincerely,

BRAD SHAH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I do stop in that hotel on my way from Québec, Canada, to Marietta, Georgia. I like it, Nice and clean, price is OK and staff very friendly. Same as almost all Choice privilege hotels, the continental breakfast is OK and good. I will stop there again on my way back to Georgie in January 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot, and spend many nights in th full variety of choice properties. This is by far the nicest rodeway property i have stayed in. The 38 dollar price is a steal for the room. They have invested much money into keeping the older, former knights inn property updated enough. The internet is great and they even have a free breakfast. Our room, 208, was clean in the areas you needed. The only.minor thing was one of the chairs needed to be replaced from a severe stain. The owner/gm is very nice and always had an answer for me or was happy to help, especially when i admit to being a pain in the butt for all the questions i had. They also have a washer and dryer which is convenient. This, out of 6 comperably priced properties in the area, is the safest bet in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gburn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As seasoned pet-owning "snowbirds", my traveling companion and I have finally found the perfect stop for our first night (and our perfect stop on our second night, when returning back north) Our route goes from Central NY to lower east coast NC, and back again. Our preference has always been limiting ourselves to five hours on the road per day - less stress on our cats/dog. After doing research on choicehotels.com, and tripadvisor.com, we found the Rodeway in Carlisle, PA. While we do not need fancy accommodations, we do need are the following:


*Motor court style parking in front of our room
*Pet friendly
*Smoking
*First floor room
*Double beds
*A/C and heat
*Windows that open for fresh air
*Lawn to walk the dog
*Cable/wifi
*Chinese or Italian food delivery
*Fridge/microwave/coffee maker
*Quiet surroundings
*Short distance from interstate

This Rodeway met all our needs, and will be our regular stop twice a year from here on out. After a long day of traveling with semi-whining pets, once we get them all settled into our room, we just want to stay in for the night, and order out. We had really good Chinese delivered that night, and they even had our favorites - fried dumplings. YAY!

While the Rodeway is located less than a quarter mile from I-81, the place is very peaceful and quiet. Also, there's a nice woodsy area to walk your dog while he/she does his/her business (reminder: be kind - carry a poop bag!) There's a gas station/kwik mart nearby to petrol-up, and a variety of restaurants nearby.

A continental breakfast is provided in the morning, with really good coffee. There is also an ATM located right off the lobby for last minute road-trip cash.

Price-wise, the place is a bargain - even with the pet charges, the total well under $100.

The manager, Brad, is one of the friendliest we've met in all our years of traveling - one can tell he takes pride in seeing that his guests are happy in their surroundings. We were greeted with a warm smile, and left the next morning in the same fashion. I had forgotten to pack my toothbrush, and he sent an employee over to the quik-mart to buy me one. And right before we checked out, he handed me a couple bottles of water for our day's travels.

If you're snowbirds like we are, and don't need anything except the basic requirements of traveling with pets, this would be the place to stop just south of Harrisburgh, PA. It took three years, and we're just happy we finally found our perfect haven of our two-night road trip (the next night is the Quality Inn, Emporia, VA - check out my review on that place - very similar
set-up as the Rodeway, and Dominos delivers!)


Thank you Brad and everyone. We'll see you next May!

Room Tip: We were in Room 227, near the woodsy area to walk our dog. Please bring your own "doggy duty&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toto24522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodeway17013, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

When you are in hospitality industry, you have to welcome positive or negative comments. Myself and my staff is overwhelmed with this comprehensive compliment. Thank you for your time letting the world know well about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is our third stay here. It is our stopping place going from Tennessee and New York. It is fine and price is right. The only complaint this stop was there was a coffee maker, but no coffee supplies or cups to go with it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I found this hotel from a coupon book at a highway rest area. The price was unbelievably low, and the location worked well for a one night stopover. The property certainly wasn't charming or luxurious, but all I wanted was a clean place to stay for one night, and I got it. Plus, the WiFi was excellent. Absolutely nothing to complain about for the price I paid. Of course it's not a 4 star property, but I'm giving them an extra star for being such a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Econo Lodge Carlisle
#13 of 27 in Carlisle
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle
Travelodge Carlisle
#22 of 27 in Carlisle
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
140 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#7 of 27 in Carlisle
898 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle North
Days Inn Carlisle North
#10 of 27 in Carlisle
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1239 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: $46 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for liesure and business travelers alike, the Rodeway Inn (A Choice Porperty) of Carlisle, Pennsylvania features an outdoor seasonal pool, free wireless high speed internet access, Hot Breakfast, business center, warmly appointed guest rooms and personable guest service care throughout your stay. A safe convenient and centrally located, easy access to major Interstates I-81 and I-76, outside ground level property in Carlisle, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Carlisle
Carlisle Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing