We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, good American Diner food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairgrounds Diner

Fairgrounds Diner
Ranked #44 of 159 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good American Diner food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

plenty of good American Diner food.
reasonable prices...large portions
very busy Sat & Sun AM breakfast
complaints: small parking lot, won't allow salad as a side

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My Wife and I stopped here for breakfast and found the food to be terrible. The wait staff was prompt, friendly and courteous and we were seated right away. My wife ordered the French toast with "fresh strawberries" and I ordered bacon & eggs. We travel a lot and we've experienced different restaurants and this experience was by far the worst ever. The food was terrible, the "fresh strawberries were preserves and had no taste whatsoever. The French Toast seemed as though they were previously frozen and so we felt as though all else was pre frozen except for the eggs. On our way out we saw that it was rated the best of 2012 and was dumbfounded by the review.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good diner food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We eat there frequently, and there has yet to be something that I want to go back and eat again. But the food is always pleasant, not disappointing, and well priced. Good service, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mbabe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum..yum..yum..order the steak wraps :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We eat here frequently, since we are local. My absolute favorite is the breakfast steak wrap. It has cheesesteak and eggs in a wrap and it comes with fried potatoes. The omlettes are delicious here too! The only issue I have ever had is that almost everything needs salt, but I understand the cooks allowing everyone to salt their own to suit your taste. I highly recommend. ( we have also eaten lunch and dinner here too and NEVER dissapointed!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waterparks4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“don't order the sausage gravy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I tried the Fairground Diner today. I have heard good things. The parking lot was full and the place was busy but I got a seat right away. The staff are friendly and judging by the use of first names it seems to have a lot of regulars. The prices are good, 2 eggs, fries , toast and meat starting at $4.15 must make it one of the chepest breakfast in town. The biscuit and sausage gravy was $5.50 , so based on price I thought it would be good, real home made sausage gravy. It wasn’t it was either canned or packaged by Sysco. The sausage was just flakes. There was no sausage or even sausage taste. I guess the price is high to discourage people from ordering it, as it must be hard on the chef to open the can or bag. My scrapple was good. Like Momma Spriggs I think they deep fry it as it was very hot and had the crispy bark. The home fries were good. I think this is a good place for 2 eggs meat and potatoes but certainly not for sausage gravy, and probaly not chipped beef. Sauage gravy is so easy to make, pity thay can no tmake the effort.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairgrounds Diner also viewed

 

Been to Fairgrounds Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing