We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The G-man Declines”
Review of Gingerbread Man

Gingerbread Man
Ranked #38 of 163 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The G-man Declines”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This used to be a great place for all sorts of people to gather and enjoy great draft beer, good bar food, and sporting events. My friend and I were underwhelmed by our visit. The staff we saw was very young and not very motivated. His fish sandwich was terrible (poorly prepared and lacking essential items) and my potato skins took almost an hour to get to the bar - completely unsatisfactory. Apparently other folks are tired of the G-man because not many people were there for an NFL Sunday. The owner needs to do some quality control ASAP!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRN1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    17
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Failure to launch”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were looking forward to going out here. It was close to our hotel and was recommended by a few locals. Walked up and spoke to the doorman, he said it was great. Walked inside and it reeked of smoke, asked if it was non-smoking and he said where we entered was, couldn't deal with it so we left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cucumber Gimlets”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

How can you go wrong with yummy Cucumber Gimlets and Martinis ~ Yum! We ate here twice on a recent trip to visit family in Carlisle and had a great experience both times. The food was good, I especially liked my roast beef sandwich. We will be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nhsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large Menu”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place has a vast array of choices in food and beverage. The food is always good. However, we and our friends are very disappointed that the potato salad changed from the original. We used to frequent all locations more often when we knew we could get the awesome potato salad. The new stuff just doesn't come close to the original and we order fries instead.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good drinks, terrible food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I love the Gingerbread Man in Mechanicsburg, so when I moved to Carlisle I was excited to try this one out. Without a doubt, everytime I've been, the drinks are perfect. However, everytime I order food it's way below my expectations, which is the reason I won't be going back. Definitely do not order a burger, tastes like cardboard. I went a few times because I was optomistic that the food would be better this time around, but it never was. If I want a good strong drink I'll definitely go elsewhere where they also have decent food! Prices are way too high for such bad food. Service is okay, not the greatest.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjacquelinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gingerbread Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing