We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good custard ”

Massey's Frozen Custard
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Northumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Really good custard ”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

After hearing about the peanut butter ice cream for MONTHS, I was disappointed they didn't have it when I went. I got cotton candy instead, and my husband got raspberry. We were both happy with our choices. Would definitely go back again soon and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    20
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ice cream hot spot”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

If you like frozen custard, you'll love massey's! They have hard and soft custard in plenty of delicious flavors. They've added a lot if outdoor seating so it's a great place to wind down after a hot summer's day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PittGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small College Town Charm”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lets face it..Nothing beats a Malt Milk Shake at an old time Ice Cream Shop with the Jeep top down. :)
Great ice cream. Great people. Great times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjfkjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent Chocolate Milkshakes”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

On four recent days after shoveling snow for hours my exhausted body required a treat. I remembered a sports medicine physician from the Hershey Medical Center had advised to drink chocolate milk right after exercise such as biking. So I was off in my 4-wheel drive SUV to Massey’s Frozen Custard to try a chocolate milkshake. The new owners keep Massey’s open all year. The parking lot was plowed. On each visit, there was only one customer in front of me to place my order and I walked out with my milkshake within a few minutes. I had to start drinking my milkshake in my car in the parking lot: I could not wait 5 minutes to drive home. The chocolate milkshakes were excellent - delicious chocolate flavor and just right thickness. I recall only one other excellent chocolate milk - at the Sherwood Diner in Westport, CT. I first purchased the $4 size; next time the $4.50 size; finally discovered the $5 size is right for me. (I am 67 and weigh 104 lbs.)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you like frozen custard, you must try Massey's. You will never be disappointed. The choices of flavors always makes it hard for me to choose what I want to order.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelgalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massey's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Massey's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing