We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are deceiving - go on in you can afford it”
Review of Piatto

Piatto
Ranked #25 of 162 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
maine
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving - go on in you can afford it”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We chanced on this restaurant while in Carlisle and were happy that we did. The restaurant is set in an old brick building with a look of $$$. We didn't think that it would offer items such as pizza or pasta but it did and for a reasonable price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingbuddyMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Disappointing Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Piatto was recommended, but it disappoints. The menu offerd a lot of variety, but the execution was lacking in every area. Crab fritters wers tasteless, a pizza was not fully cooked, the Scallopine al limone was soggy and lacked flavor; in short the meal was very disappointing at each course. I got the impression that every item was in a package in the freezer and microwaved. Service was so-so and the wine list limited.

Carlisle must have other restaurants that are better!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First Time Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Friends of ours were visiting from out of Town and wanted to take us out to dinner. They suggested Italian which is why we selected Piatto. We recently moved to Carlisle and had no idea where to go. I checked the reviews and decided to give it a try. Overall we had a very good experience. Our waitress was attentive and very friendly. The group was satisfied with their food selections. I was a bit surprised, however, when one of the dishes arrived (it was the pork special) and found the presentation somewhat lacking. Our friend said the dish was very tasty in spite of it's appearance. We finished our meal with desert which was also acceptable. I would certainly give the restaurant another try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second Try NOT a Charm”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We truly enjoyed our first dinner at this cozy little Italian restaurant in Carlisle. We had yummy salads and split pizza napolatana and pasta putanesca. Our waitress was very lovely....

Take two.. I guess you should never go back on vacation and try to have the same dinner twice. The salad was given to us without dressing. The pizza was completely under-cooked, as if it came from a different recipe. And the pasta was almost inedible. It was most likely made by a different chef, but that should not be apparent by the customer. And to top it all off, the waiter was a snarky young man. What a total disappointment. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants to go to...avoid this one!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank ColoradoSnowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian Gem”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ambience was great and the food excellent in this smaller and intimate restaurant. Outdoor dining is possible weather permitting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto also viewed

 

Been to Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing