We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for short trip”
Review of Diamond Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamond Inn
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was adequate for a quick overnight trip. I would not recommend it for longer stays. The hotel is near a busy road off the Pennsylvania Turnpike; makes for decent food options, but not quiet sleep conditions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thanks Sandra and hope to make your stay more comfortable at your next stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was very clean...comfortable and quiet . The staff was very friendly and helpfull....BUT...my only problem was when I arrived (630 p.m. ) there was no hot water.
Then as I left (5 a.m.) again therewas no hot water. That and the wireless signal was very low and sometimes not working at all. Its a great place for the price just to get some peacefull slepp for a few hours but I would'nt or could'nt stay for longer then that. ALSO a microwave and small fridge would have been a nice touch if I had them in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank CHARLES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

I apolozise for the inconvinience due to hot water.II was taking a little more time to get the real hot water due to the malfunctioning og check valve.The mechanical part can fail any time without any indication.However the valve was fixed early in the morning .We look forward to your next visit.
Ramesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wanted to go to carlisle for the car show.was searching various websites but found rates very high .Than one of the friend staying at this hotel recommended and booked room for us.The room rate was reasonable .The room was nice and clean.We enjoyed our stay and even made reservation for the year 2013

Room Tip: The location is very near to interstate 81 and turnpike.Fairground is also very near,where car show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks for your stay with us.We appreciate your business and look forward to see you in next car show in 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed the weekend and were very pleased at the value for the money. Recommend for travelers wanting a good night's rest without spending a fortune. Good dining nearby, Lovely liitle town, Carlisle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Janeva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for the response.Our goal is to give value for the money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here last night and were pleasantly surprised at Great the room was after reading all the recent bad reviews. The breakfast was open now (although we didn't get up in time for). The staff was very pleasant and the noon check-out time was fantastic after we got in at midnight agter an all day concert @ Hersheypark. Would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Our room (267) was very quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thanks for your response.At checkout we ask for the impression of guests how they felt about the stay.You appreciated everything and the hospitality extended. What I understand from your review is that you were fully satisfied with your stay with us.However your ranking shows otherwise.The !!! signs and the rating of only 1 gives other impression.I would accept your rating of 1 if you are not satisfied.However if you are fully satisfied than please reconsider your rating.
Ramesh Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Howard Johnson Carlisle was very reasonable and conveniently located right off of Interstate 81.

We spent quite a while looking at Hotels dot Com and found many hotels from $80 to $150.
We made a conscious decision to find a place to sleep at around 11:30 PM. We called, the manager was helpful and accomodating.

The hotel was clean and very reasonable. The self-serve continental breakfast was typical carbs, juice and coffee. Worked fine, we would stay here again as an overnight stop to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korashschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

We are happy you liked your stay with us.As per the philosophy of Howard Johnson " GO HAPPY GO HOJO " we try to make all efforts to make the stay comfortable.We look forward to your next stay with us.
Ramesh Parikh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stopped late at night -- checked GPS for hotels, called three that were full up, then were happy this one had a room. Arrived just as sky opened with downpour. For some reason, they have blocked off access from the lobby to the rooms, so we could not unload our luggage in the covered entryway and carry it into the room, then move the car and dash through the rain. We waited a while for the rain to stop, asking several times whether there wasn't a back way to the room so we wouldn't have to pull our luggage out in the rain. At one point, a boy (maybe 13?) approached from behind the desk with a large umbrella, but the man at the desk shook his head at him. We finally went out and covered our luggage with raincoats and were able to get it inside without damaging anything.
The lights went out in the room a couple of times - maybe due to the storm. But they also have the cable box plugged into the same switch that controls one of the lights on the wall. So, I turned off the wall light and the TV went static-y too. I thought it was the storm, because some other lights went off at the same time. The front desk had been so un-helpful about access to the room in the rain that I didn't want to call them about the TV problem. In the morning, when I turned on the light again, the cable box took about 2 minutes to reboot and then the TV worked again. Wifi worked just fine.
The room was a bit run down, but okay, especially considering the price. Walls were thin enough that the crying baby in the room next door was quite audible in ours.
Breakfast was minimal, in an old HJ restaurant setting - lots of seating. Again, they had blocked off the door from the rooms so we had to walk around outside -- no big deal in the daylight and no rain, but a negative if it's cold or wet. I didn't eat anything, but my friend had oatmeal and a doughnut. There was a microwave, but the dishes were thin styrofoam, so microwaving the oatmeal was a potential disaster. (She had to settle for hot water in the instant oatmeal rather than microwaving it with milk.) OJ was watery. Coffee was ok.
If the kid's "service" and creative impulses are allowed to grow, and he takes the place over in 10 years or so, I'm betting it will be a much better place to stay. He may even find some tin snips to re-open the doors between the lobby and the rooms so "guests" don't feel as if the proprietors think they're thieves or otherwise undesirable. As it is, we avoided the hotel on the return trip and will remember not to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NutmegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramesh p, Manager at Diamond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

I understand no body would like to get soaked in the rain.I apolozise for the experience the guest had.The access is not blocked as stated.The place the guest refered is leased area to the restaurant.At the moment the restaurant and lounge are under renovation .Since the floor is wooden the door is closed for through passage .
In order to provide breakfast to our guest they have permitted to use the restaurant place .The place looks nice and many people have appreciated the sitting in a big hall with sitting near the window
The breakfast consists of variety donuts,english muffins ,2 varities of Kelloggs cereals, bread ,variety of oatmeal,cheese,butter,jelly ,milk,orange juice,apple juice from Florida Natural
Coffee,tea packets and fruit.Hot water is available in jug for oatmeal and making tea.
Foam bowls are provided which can be used in microwave also.
The boy refered by guest is son of the front desk clerk who came to know if his dad would like supper.Since the clerk was busy checking the other guests he noded his head for 'NO'.There is no reason to feel offensive.
The door to the hallway has covered area near which car can be parked and luggage unloaded without getting wet, The car than can be parked in the parking area.However one will need an umbrella for travelling to the door without getting wet.It is a normal practise of keeping an umbrella in the car for such situation.
I wish to mention that the partition walls between the rooms at our property is made of concrete blocks as compared to today's construction of wooden pannels.This is a well known fact that the pitch intensity of child crying is very high and shrill.In the silence of night the sound sometimes becomes unbearable.One cannot stop child from crying .The mother of the child must have tried her best to calm the child.I dont think hotel management can do much in such situations.
I understand the guest must have been tired of driving and searching for the hotel room in the town and was not able to rest properly.
I think the remarks in the last paragraph are made out of frustration.I believe the new generation in the future will do much better in the hospitality industry as stated by the guest.
I again apolozise the guest for the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Econo Lodge Carlisle
#13 of 27 in Carlisle
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
#4 of 27 in Carlisle
51 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Harrisburg - Carlisle
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Inn

Address: 1245 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1621 (Formerly Knights Inn Carlisle)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: $62 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diamond Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Carlisle
Carlisle Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing