We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musky Rooms and Dirty Towels says it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Carlisle
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Me and my family and my sister-in law's family booked 2 rooms for one night. The rooms looked fine until further inspection. The rooms had a sour, musky, musty odor. The A/C's in the room made a lot of noise which blew around the odor. The bathroom fans which turned on automatically when you turn on the light was making a clunking noise. There was mold on the ceiling of the bathroom. There were ANTS on the carpet! Both the face towels had a yellow hard stains on it. The bath towels were stiff and off-white and I question if it was even washed. The bathtub had the dirty ring inside the tub. The toilet seat was stained, had scratch marks on it and was cracked in the back. The free breakfast looked ok until you get a chance to taste the cold, rubbery, vinegary eggs--that just nastified the entire breakfast. Stay away from this Best Western Carlisle.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MChin_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdityaP1, General Manager at Best Western Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

When my family and I traveled 3 states from where we live to see some family, we went to this hotel. We arrived a little early so we could get settled and we asked " Can we get the room early?" They said "No" while we were talking. So we left to look around. Then when we came back, we asked when we reserved the room if we could have a cot or a rolling bed and they said they didn't have any. But to our suprise there was one in the hallway. The pool had a stain in it to. other then that i had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HI_IM_BOB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdityaP1, General Manager at Best Western Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

A good hotel, no matter what class, should be clean, quiet, have a polite staff, a comfortable bed and a good shower. This hotel did exactly that, with the added bonus of a reasonable breakfast buffet and a morning manager who didn't mind when folks wandered in before the breakfast room was officially open to get coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Road1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdityaP1, General Manager at Best Western Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

being a regular best western customer for years now, i was insulted by this hotel. i had called three months in advance to book a room at a rate of 118$ plus tax a night and reserved using visa. upon check in the accommodations were somewhat substandard. During check out the final bill was increased to 156$ a night, due to it being thur, fri, and sat, while the wed check in day was still at 118$. Should the customer not have been informed he/she was being charged extra for those three nights, or is it standard to get ripped off?

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hawkins8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Long story short, they gave me a smoking room when I had reserved a non-smoking room. I had reserved the room through the Best Western website and I even had the print out of the reservation showing that I had reserved a non-smoking room. The desk clerk explained that they were booked solid and that there was nothing he could do. He blamed the computer. The room reeked of smoke - it was like living in an ashtray. There were even ashes on some of the furniture. And there was no way to get any fresh air into the room. I seriously considered sleeping in my car. When I checked out of the room, all of my clothing reeked of smoke.

Smoking aside, the bathroom could have been cleaned better. And there was no coffee when I arrived for breakfast in the morning, although it eventually was refilled after about ten minutes. And there was no desk clerk present when I went to check out in the morning.

Don't bother staying here, there are plenty of other quality hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KayakUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stopped here for an overnight while traveling. The front desk staff was very nice, we were able to check in a few minutes before the actual check in time. The room was clean and large, beds were comfortable, wireless internet worked very well. I did like the queen size beds, I hate when there are doubles. And the air conditioner was nice and quiet. The breakfast was adequate with waffles, hard boiled eggs, bagels, cereal, etc. My only complaint was that the only fruit was apples. The only issue we has was that the toilet clogged and didn't seem to flush totally. They did give us a plunger to use and it worked out okay. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. My kids enjoyed the outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

As with prior reviews, I found this hotel to be of very high standard. It was immaculately clean. My room was spacious and perfect. All trash bins were empty, toilet, shower, and sink were spotless, and beds were great. Happy to report there are no bedbugs (I always check hotel beds with a flashlight). The front desk help was so friendly. They recommended a place to get my nails done for a wedding, which was great. I forgot my showercap, and they happily provided one for me. There were no cookies upon check in (but I was there during a festival weekend-don't know if that's the reason), but the breakfast the next morning more than made up for it. Between the belgian waffle maker, hot and cold cereals, muffins, hard boiled eggs, etc, it was more than enough to be satisfied. It was all indoor coridors, and nice and quiet. Fitness room was also spotless, with towels and chilled water for those exercising. Would highly recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
Thank justcallmeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
148 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#7 of 27 in Carlisle
911 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
#5 of 27 in Carlisle
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
754 reviews
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carlisle

Address: 1155 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: $63 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Carlisle is conveniently located near the Carlisle Fairgrounds, the Giant Foods Corporate Office and the Lear Corporation. Hotel guests will have easy access to the U.S. Army War College, Dickinson School of Law and Sports Emporium. Each newly renovated room features free high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television and refrigerator. Guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and exercise room. Complimentary breakfast is available each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing