We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice buffet”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #22 of 163 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $6 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees…all cooked to order!Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms
Williamsburg, Va
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice buffet”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped in for lunch during a motorcycle ride. The buffet was well equipped, soups were delicious. My buddy and his wife added the hamburgers and they mentioned they were very tasty. The restaurant was clean, well decorated and staff was very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hoss's. We are happy to hear of your enjoyable dining experience at our Carlisle location. The Soup & Salad Bar is the centerpeice of our operations and bound to please. We hope you will dine with us again when your travels bring you this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    65
    46
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and very nice Buffet.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Eat here twice on a recent trip. Steak was very good and flavorful. I had steak tips and they were
cooked perfectly. Service was quick and good. Drinks were kept filled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1quiltmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for our Carlisle location. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the manager. We hope you choose Hoss's again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COBOURG
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, very busy place”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have eaten here several times over the years and believe they deliver a good meal for a decent value.

Dinners include the salad and desert bar.

Steaks were above average quality and cooked as requested. Service was quick and staff was readily available.

The only complaint I have is they are not licensed and you cannot get a cold beer after a hot day at the car show.

I will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slipca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Carlisle Hoss's. We are very happy that you had a great dining experience. Unfortunately we are unable to fulfill your request for alcohol. Hope to see you again during the next car show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington VT
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“And some chicken too.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Haven't been to Hoss's in many years, and a friend from the area invited me. I am neither a surf nor turf type, but there was a good chicken choice. Had a great salad and good soup. There is a dessert bar that comes with the salad. Overenjoyed that, and have decided maybe it is a good thing not to have dessert as part of the meal price.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, social media at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Welcome back! We were pleased to hear of your enjoyable trip to Hoss's while you were visiting a friend. We are proud to serve delicious meals at a reasonable price. Please come back again and savor more of our items on our extensive salad bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of food!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We would have had plenty of food without ordering a steak to go with the salad, food & dessert bars. Since we were not familiar with their set up & the fact that you order your entree upon entering, we did not know this until we had already ordered. The food was good. If ever in this area again, we would eat there again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missy H, Public Relations Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our Fresh Salad Bar, Soup Bar, Bread Bar, and Dessert Bar, and look forward to serving you again if you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing