We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What can you say? It's a diner!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlisle Diner

Carlisle Diner
Ranked #95 of 158 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
233 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What can you say? It's a diner!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here several times. It is diner. Breakfast food is fair anytime. Beyond that, the fare is greasy diner food. Some things, like the evening diner specials are fair. But if you order a "higher end" meal, like prime rib, beware. It will not be good. Every time we go there, we ask ourselves, "why?

Helpful?
Thank SAinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    11
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Owners don't think much about customers”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A nice little (emphasis little) place in Carlisle. Not much parking, not in the nicer old town part of Carlisle. Several flies buzzing around.

Good selection of food on the menu but when we stopped and needed to work on our computers while eating, we picked up a strong wi-fi signal called "Carlisle Diner." Sadly, the waitress told us that the owners don't give out to a password to customers. A little like the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld "No Wi-FI For You!"

Clearly, the customer is not the first priority here. Reminds me of the old bookstores that used to have signs that said "no reading -- this is not a library." And we all know what happened to them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank review8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You pay for EVERY type of add on”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

WE, as a crew of 6-15 used to eat here every day. THe food is average diner food. The service is AWESOME!
The problem is, if you want lettuce, tomato, and onions on your burger its going to cost you. If you want biscuits with your creamed chipped beef instead of toast its $1.25 more. Really? Two biscuits are $1.25 more than a piece of toast? Also, the waitress was the one that suggested that I try it that way but failed to mention it would cost me. when I asked the person in charge about it she stated that "its only a dollar. If I take it off for you then I have to do it for everyone!" Great customer service. NOT!!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast spot”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

A typical Diner with decent service, clean and efficient. Great for breakfast. They even have pork roll!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

From October 2011 through January 2012 we visited the Carlisle Diner 4 times. Not once were we impressed. The service is average to mediocre - smiles and warmth don't seem to be offered here. In December, at about 6:15 pm we waited 50 minutes for breakfast !; no apology. The food? They offer no lo-cal salad dressing. No healthy foods are noted nor do they appear to be listed. Another time I ordered two broiled pork chops thinking that it was impossible to get bad pork chops - I was wrong. They arrived swimming in juice which I requested be poured off. This was not choice meat as they were full of gristle. I really can't understand why this place is rated higher than 2 stars... maybe it's due to no in-town alternatives. Four visits are enough to convince us that this place really is not the place to go. Do yourself a favour - head to Middlesex Diner instead.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilikepurple069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlisle Diner also viewed

 

Been to Carlisle Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing