We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brings back childhood memories”

Georgie Lou's Retro Candy
Ranked #6 of 15 Shopping in Carlisle
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forget the housework and mortgage and immerse yourself in nostalgia that will make you giggle at Georgie Lou's Retro Candy! Georgie Lou's specializes in childhood favorites from the past alongside candy kids love today. From Bit-O-Honey to Turkish Taffy and from Airheads to Warheads, our 800+ kinds of candy will give kids of all generations a sugar rush! We carry 120+ varieties of unique and nostalgic glass bottle sodas and a nice selection of gourmet chocolate bars. Our retro gifts gives a nod to the past with a wink and a smile. Here you'll find metal signs and lunch boxes, toys and games, cards and notepads, purses and shopping totes and so much more, featuring humorous sayings or pop culture icons, such as Star Trek, Star Wars, and Wonder Woman. Georgie Lou's makes their own delicious fudge, barks, chocolate pretzels, and other specialty treats. We host parties, bus tours, fundraisers, do on site events, and design and deliver custom gift baskets and have online shopping. You're going to love it here so much that you laugh out loud, and that's the way we like it!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love going and stocking up on my Favorite candy. I always get my chocolate covered sunflower seeds. They have everything. You won't leave empty handed. And the truffles are so good! I wish I had known about this place sooner can't wait to bring my family here when they visit!

2  Thank Beckie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Owner at Georgie Lou's Retro Candy, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2015

Thanks so much for loving our store! It really makes us happy to know that our customers love our store. And without customers like you spreading the word, we'd be nowhere, so thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Your childhood favorite candy, delectable truffles, and retro items like wall art, lunchboxes, and toys - and a very friendly shopkeeper. A great stop in Carlisle, PA!

2  Thank gretaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Owner at Georgie Lou's Retro Candy, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I may be biased, because I live in beautiful Carlisle, PA, but this small but abundantly stocked candy store rocks. As soon as you walk through the door, you go back in time and become a kid again. The place abounds with candy that you just can't pick up at the grocery store. Necco wafers, Swedish fish of every color and size, mallow cups, candy cigarettes and cigars and any gummy possible to more gourmet truffles & candy bars (I bought my husband a beef jerky chocolate bar). I love that there are small $1 and $2 bags so you can try a bunch of different candies, cause who can pick just one? Then you get caught up looking at the retro lunch boxes, toys, coffee mugs, etc. It's just a fun, fun, fun store to walk into. And at Easter you just don't get prettier candy. The hours are a bit flexible, but when you realize it's because it's a working mom taking care of her family, it makes the possible slight inconvenience acceptable. The prices make it possible to leave the store with a nice variety without breaking your wallet.

3  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Owner at Georgie Lou's Retro Candy, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. While we had hoped that what we were doing would make people harken back to their childhoods, it always makes us happy to know that we're on the right track. We also appreciate your understanding of our need to close on those rare occasions that we can't schedule a school meeting or doctor's appointment any other time than during business hours. We hate closing or delaying our hours, and we thank you for your patience.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Memories made of candy, quirky gifts and toys that delight and amuse. Georgie Lou's is a great spot to visit before dinner at Cafe Bruges or before a show at the Carlisle Theater. There's no way you'll be able to leave without at least a little something. The staff is pleasant and knowledgeable, too. Don't leave Carlisle without stopping here!

2  Thank lschaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie G, Owner at Georgie Lou's Retro Candy, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. While we love our store, we could be just a bit biased, so hearing from customers like you very important to us.

We appreciate your time and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgie Lou's Retro Candy also viewed

 

Been to Georgie Lou's Retro Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing