We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent brisket sandwiches”

Redds Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #5 of 162 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent brisket sandwiches”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Wife and I ate at Redds for dinner. I had the brisket sandwich platter with cole slaw & beans. The wife had pulled pork sandwich & fries.
The brisket was excellent! The coke slaw and beans were great. The wife liked. The pulled pork but the fries were just okay.
The sauces were very good. Sweet tea was also good.
Redds does remind me of a southern BBQ place because the tables and chairs are old school and the the floors were a bit "sticky ".
We really enjoyed the meal and will be returning soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SAinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    50
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“smoked ribs for lunch”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

my coworkers and i have ordered to-go meals from here occasionally. the ribs were scrumptious, and the sauce complimented them quite nicely. i think there's room for flavor adjustment, but for the cost of the meal, this restaurant is a great deal. ... now i'm hungry for ribs!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dB_Audio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Brisket Mecca”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I love BBQ and this is some of the finest I've ever eaten. Their sampler is a must. But do not leave without sampling the brisket. It will knock your grandmama off the rocking chair

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went here for a quick bite and found the BBQ to be good, but not great. The meat is smoked on site, and what we ordered was moist and flavorful. It is not a wet BBQ, which we would have preferred. I sampled some of the BBQ sauces on the table and didn't personally care for them - but only because I am NOT a mustard fan and they all had a healthy dose of mustard in them. Atmosphere was ok. Our table was not level and so it wobbled every time one of us leaned against it. There were no decorations on the walls, so while it was clean and simple, I think they could have put some thought into creating a smokehouse vibe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saavychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Meh...but potential for more.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

What can I say? I wanted to like it. I certainly don't hate it. The BBQ meat (pork in particular) had a very nice smokey flavor, but the house BBQ sauces didn't do the meat proper justice (just my opinion, I am very picky with sauces, with North Carolina style being my favorite). They try to do Southern flavors and I liked the cornbread, but the only available sweet tea was lackluster. The corn side was very good but the cole slaw only so-so. Granted, I've only been once, but a return visit is debatable at best. One thing Redd's has on their side is the fact that they are one of the few (if only) BBQ options in town. If I could offer Redd's any advice...1) improve décor inside, because it feels too much like cafeteria and 2) get a beer license...beer and bbq go so well together, don't keep these starry-eyed lovers apart, let them join for goodness sake. I know its BYOB like so many other places in this town, but I believe fixing up the inside a little more and obtaining the license or joining forces with Market Cross Pub next door could do wonders.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redds Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Redds Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing