We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reclaiming the title of best place to eat in Carlisle”
Review of The Green Room - CLOSED

The Green Room
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“reclaiming the title of best place to eat in Carlisle”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Two top chefs have recently moved into the kitchen at the Green Room which hopefully will bring back the value and quality of food they had when they first opened. A major complaint by many was that food would come out at different times, and that lunch service was amazingly slow for those with a 30 minute window. On my recent visit our food came out as a table of four and at the right temperature for each dish. My medium rare steak was cooked perfectly although they may want to introduce a little butter as grass fed beef can be a little leaner than grain fed cattle.The deep fried risotto balls as an appetizer were interesting. To increase value for money a selection of home made breads in the bread basket, and a table bowl of in season, steamed vegetables would make sure no on goes home hungry. I think this place will getter better and better as the new chefs influence the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Green Room is an excellent choice for a leisurely lunch. Located just west of "The Square" in Carlisle, the dining room has a simple but modern decor and is accentuated by works by local artists on the walls. The simplicity and emphasis on the local is reflected on the menu which features meals prepared with fresh, locally grown, meat and produce.

Although the menu is not extensive, there are ample choices of salads, sandwiches, and wraps. Everyything on the menu appeared to be a good choice. I choose the Black Bean Wrap, and was quite happy with my choice. Presentation was simple yet elegant and the wrap was very tasty. The freshly made potato chips were an enjoyable side.

Service was nicely paced and our server was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The atmosphere, menu, good food, and good service are all factors making The Green Room an excellent choice for lunch (and dinner, too)!

Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Style Over Substance”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We went to downtown Carlisle during a trip in search for dinner. We walked around several streets, checking out a number of tripadvisor recommendations. We noted the attractive storefront of The Green Room and apparently happy patrons sipping white wine at a table in near the front window. So, we entered about 5PM for dinner. Inside, it was apparent that this was a “new age” kind of place, with an emphasis on gluten-free fare. The reviews also touted local sourcing and “sustainable” (whatever that really means) food production, but we noted that there were few local sourcing options on the menu. Sadly, my party cannot concur with the glowing reviews on this site. The food was not terrible, but it was not top quality. The best part was the mixed green salad, fresh and flavorful with an appealing variety of dressings. The entrées were just average, however. The best was the Alaskan Rock Fish in a rather interesting soupy concoction of broth, fresh onions and herbs and a breaded rice cake. The Wild Salmon Cakes were deemed nearly inedible. The grass fed steak had a rather odd texture and flavor, though two of our party thought it was OK.
Don’t get us wrong, we LOVE local sourced restaurants such as the Red Hen in Lexington, VA. That isn’t the problem. The problem here is more in the preparation than the philosophical approach to producing food. It appears to us that the emphasis here is more on style than substance. Also, note to ownership: you may want to research “fair trade”, which is touted on your sugar packs and perhaps elsewhere in the restaurant. “Fair trade” is another control tyranny under the guise of promoting someone’s idea of “fairness”. You may want to read Milton Friedman, Walter Williams or Thomas Sowell on the subject.
On a final note, our server, though pleasant, was extremely slow and inattentive. We finally emerged after two hours to resume our lengthy journey southward.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JTMWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great for locavores”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We tried the Green Room while on vacation, and found the food to be tasty and interesting. It is a bit pricey, but well-prepared, and reflective of what is currently available locally. It was my first time trying black rice ("forbidden rice") with my chicken, and I cleaned my plate. My husband had the Delmonico steak, my daughter the kid's pizza, and all of us were pleased.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenJ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent concept”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The concept is simple: this is a charming little byob sustainable eatery in super cute downtown Carlisle. All the food is local, and there are tons of gluten-free options on the menu.

Reservations are vital; the restaurant is little, but your place will be waiting for you when you arrive. The glassware is recycled, the food is local and organic, and the menu is focused and small, but there's nothing boring or restrictive about the decor or food offerings.

The food was spectacular! The ambience was charming and sophisticated. The staff seemed well-educated about the food offerings at The Green Room, and they were quite proud of every aspect of the restaurant. All were willing to answer any questions or share any information about local food production, quality of ingredients, or seasonal menu offerings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatieInContinuance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing