We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new exhibit with simulated parachute jump and shooting gallery. Outdoor exhibits are also well done. Don't miss i.”

U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brand new exhibit with simulated parachute jump and shooting gallery. Outdoor exhibits are also well done. Don't miss i.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Brand new exhibit with simulated parachute jump and shooting gallery. Outdoor exhibits are also well done. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice+Angus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    61
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MUST SEE”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a superb facility with both indoor and outdoor displays. Great place for both kids and adults. We take all our family and out of town visitors here and they always love it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PAHappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were just there this afternoon for a brand new interactive exhibit on the various wars. They had so many things to read and do that we will be back to do it again! They have wonderful events there for your war history buff. Many times there are reenactors there to give you even more knowledge with items you can touch! They also have a lovely walking trail that takes you past (and you can wander through) various sites from the revolutionary war up to vietnam. Some days we just go up for the walk!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 717Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmore ny
Level Contributor
229 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good for the history buffs”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A big and informative place celebrating US and all our service relate history. Huge library and nice gift shop and design of place ios superb. it is free and nice for a rainy afternoon in Carlisle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, delaware
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Awesome--Educational and Fun”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited the Center with our 9 year old grandaughter. Most of the interior exhibits were closed pending a grand reopening in November. However, there's a one-mile trail outdoors with examples of structures from various eras of U.S. Army history...a Checkpont from the Middle East wars, trenches from WWI, cabins from Civil War, Redoubt from Revolutionary War as well as other structures and pieces of equipment such as tanks, cannons, and a helicopter. It was very interesting for all of us...in fact, we walked the whole path twice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank newarkdelawaregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing