We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hampton Inn standards, disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
rapid city
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not up to Hampton Inn standards, disappointing.”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We always stay at Hampton Inns and always will. They are the best, but this one needs work. Smells moldy and damp and doesn't feel or smell clean. Staff very nice. I wouldn't believe this was a Hampton Inn if it weren't for the sign.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razortupence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    168
    47
    30
    8
See reviews for
276
188
49
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We recently spent two nights at this hotel. For the money, it was very nice. The rooms were clean and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was more than adequate. The night before we checked-in we stayed at a Chase Suites in Hunt Valley, Maryland. It was the opposite (dirty rooms, bugs, etc....). The Hampton Inn is proof that you can find a clean and decent room without spending a fortune. Hilton is doing a good job with this chain (Hampton Inn).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benz8275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Made reservations with a credit card several weeks in advance to stay here on our way back from a long road trip with two kids under 6. The kid were looking forward to a chance to swim before the next leg of the journey but unfortunately they didn't get the chance.

We were running late in our travels so we called from the road to let them know we would be checking in late. They asked if we had secured the room with a credit card and when we said yes they told us there wouldn't be a problem. If only.

We arrived three hours later and when my husband went in he was told that three rooms were unavailable because a pipe burst and so we were being sent downtown Carlise to the Comfort Inn. Here it was11:00 at night, we have two kids in the car and were were sent elsewhere. If that had been the real reason I would have been less angry but something didn't seem right about their excuse.

I was angry for a number of reasons so I called back. THIS time I was told that the rooms were overbooked. Although they were apologetic:
-they should have told us that when we called in the first time to confirm our rooms. I wouldn't have been happy but at least we could have changed our travel plans and made arrangements that we wanted
-If I had wanted to stay at the other hotel I would have reserved that myself. I chose the Hampton Inn because it gives my kids a chance to swim before getting in the car for a long ride. The hotel we ended up at did not have a pool.

I was very disappointed in the way this was handled.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank akb8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2008

My family and I stayed here for 3 days while visiting our daughter and were very happy with everything. Easy to find and right off the turnpike with a nice indoor pool. We tried a less expensive motel accross the road for one night because we were trying to save some money but paying more to stay at Hampton was well worth it.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — bathroom too foggy when showering
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Senger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
227 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This is my original review. Please see addendum below:

Nestled just off a turnpike exit and across the street from a truck stop one finds this Hampton Inn. Booked via the corporate web site w/ AAA rate @ $116 + taxes = $126. Now the bad news. Leaky ceiling throughout the main lobby (watch out for the peeling plaster and pails on the floor). No key cards - all guests must be escorted (yes, think "Dead Man Walking")to their rooms. That means long waits for the reception desk at check in and whenever you return to the hotel. Arrive at the second floor and you are greeted by a fetid smell (think a late night poker game - sweaty old men and their stale cigars). Your escort opens your door and voila - a bed with a comforter on it that has bumps and lumps as if their are small animals under the cover. The bathroom has a shower curtain with more water stains than you could think possible. And towels you might ask. As an anti-theft tool, these towels are old and rough - couldn't even use them to wash your car let alone dry yourself off. We thought a rear room would guarantee some peace and quiet. Nope, not here. Anytime a door is shut on your floor, the walls in your room seem to move. The exercise room is a ten by ten foot closet, without ventilation (you break a sweat just trying to breathe in there), no towels, no water cooler, and three antiquated pieces of equipment. The breakfast - that was as expected - no better , no worse. All told - this Hampton Inn needs a TOTAL overhaul. Until then, haul yourself over to another establishment that is willing to invest in itself in order to better serve its' guests.

Addendum:
I was asked, independent of my Tripadvisor review (see above), to fill out an online feedback form by the hotel chain. I was honest and to the point, and covered much of what was stated in the review. Several days later, I received a phone call stating that I would be receiving a full refund of my bill, and asked if they can do anything else. My next month's credit card statement revealed a full credit to my account. I never asked for my money
back, but finally - a business that is true to its' advertising - a
"real" 100% money back guarantee. Hampton Inn deserves some kudos for this.

  • Liked — 100% guarantee
  • Disliked — the fact that our stay deserved to be refunded
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The entrance to this Hotel is a little tricky. I could see it when I came off the turnpike but missed the turn and felt a little stupid. By the time I got there I was a little frustrated and I think the desk girl could tell. She was very attentive and friendly. I told her I had problems finding the entrance and she said she was sorry and assured me I was not the only traveler who missed the turn. She then told me exactly where my room was and told me to call the front desk if I needed anything else. I got to my room and realized I forgot my toothpaste! I called the desk and she personally brought me toothpaste and a bag of cookies! My room was very clean and when I passed the housekeeper in the morning she smiled a shy smile and said good morning. The breakfast was a nice hot breakfast and the breakfast staff was really nice too! I had time to work out in the fitness area and though it wasn't very large, it was private and I had a nice work out. When I returned to my room the maid had already cleaned it! I stayed here for 3 nights and felt very comfortable the limited time I was there. I will definitely go back. This isn't a cheap hotel, but the staff makes it a nice place to stay and it is worth it to pay a little more for the little extra's you don't get at a lower priced hotel.

  • Liked — Clean room, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Missed the turn to Hotel!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CharlieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed overnight at the Hampton Inn while visiting Dickinson College. It's a very nice Hampton, very clean rooms/bathrooms, with comfortable beds and bedding.
My only complaint is that the a/c-heating unit is rather loud.
It has the usual continental breakfast and the hostess was really pleasant.
We'd stay again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sarha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Carlisle
113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 26 in Carlisle
313 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlisle

Property: Hampton Inn Carlisle
Address: 1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel in 2014! The area around the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Carlisle boasts dozens of reasons to visit. For history buffs, there's Gettysburg nearby as well as The Whiskey Rebellion. We're home to Carlisle Barracks, the second-oldest military installation in the United States. George Washington himself admired our town and suggested the location of the barracks. You can explore much of Carlisle's history at the Cumberland County Historical Society's museum. It's all just minutes away from our hotel in Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing