We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Typical Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Carlisle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is what you would expect from any Hampton Inn. Check in is quick and easy and the staff is courteous, especially the lady that attends to breakfast. She has been wonderfully pleasant on the two occasions that I have stayed.The lobby and breakfast area have been remodeled to Hampton's latest design. Rooms are typical with desk, flat panel TV, fridge, etc. The beds are comfortable, but I do wish they would offer larger, "traditional" sized, pillows. Bathrooms have yet to be remodeled and are a bit cramped (compared to newer hotels) and dated. I recommend a room on the back facing the field. Hot breakfast is decent though I stick with oatmeal or fruit. Access to the hotel is not direct, but is attained by turning at the intersection by the truck stop.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces a field, where as the front faces the parking lot and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FNadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hello FNadeau,

Thank you so very much for staying with us TWICE and THANK YOU for taking the time to write a review! I will be sure to share your review with my team. They do such a good job and I am proud to be part of Team Hampton Inn Carlisle.

We are very excited to say that we will be renovating the guest rooms and bathrooms over the next few months so our dated bathroom look will be updated as well as our guest rooms.

Lastly, thank you for the tip regarding the back of the building! Many people like that view and ask for it upon arrival. Thanks also for the tip on accessing the hotel as it can be confusing given that we are adjacent to the PA Turnpike entrance and Interstate 81.

Thanks again for staying with us and thanks again for posting your review as we consider this information invaluable to a us as well as our future guests!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    151
    43
    29
    8
See reviews for
251
171
41
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Like all Hampton Inns, and Hilton family hotels, we had a pleasant stay. Check-in was quick, the room was decent, and breakfast was great. I did think the bathroom was a bit tight and a little out-dated, but that's just my opinion.

For travelers to consider:
1. As a Hilton Honors member my profile states that I want a room on a high floor and away from the elevators. When i check-in I was told they couldn't fill that request (not sure why) and that I would be on the first floor right next to the lobby. I was in room 105 which is next to the office and check-in counter. The biggest downside was listening to the night employees go in and out of the office all night long. Just like hotel room doors, the office door slammed all night. The other downside of this room is you are next to the front door of the hotel and can hear car doors and conversations of everyone coming and going. If you get assigned room 105, ask for a different one.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 105. It's next to the check-in counter and employee office. It's loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hello Christopher R,

Thanks so much for your stay and thanks also for your review!

I am glad check in was quick and breakfast was, "Great" and I am sorry about the size and outdated bathroom. Please know we will be renovating the guest rooms and guest baths starting in December of this year so we hope this problem is addressed.

I am concerned that my team did not accommodate your HHonors requests regarding, "High Floor" and "Away From Elevators" as we typically do our best to block rooms according to HHonors requests. I will speak with my team about this so that it does not happen in the future. I do apologize.

Thanks again for your business and loyalty and I wish You and Yours safe travels!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Very clean hotel, staff was great. The room was very clean, bed comfortable. They were awesome to my dog, even had a treat waiting for him when we arrived. Lots of walking space for puppy breaks. Highly recommended! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Rebecca C,

Thank you so much for your business and thanks also for your kind words in your review!

We are so glad that our hotel was a good fit for you and your furry traveler! I will share this review with my team!

Safe Travels to You and Yours!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in Carlisle at the Hampton Inn - we registered on line and were welcomed by pleasant, courteous, helpful staff. They answered all our travel questions and made sure we were comfortable.
The entrance into the property was not well lit ans should be attended to.
Good value good breakfast will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello Gordon S!

Thank you so much for staying with us! We do appreciate the repeat business! Thanks also for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor!

I am happy to hear that my team provided pleasant and courteous service! I will pass on your comments to the team!

I will be sure to check our outdoor lighting...thank you for brining this to my attention!

I wish you and yours safe travels!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saint Clair, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I feel very confident staying at Hampton Inn's. Rooms are clean! Linens fresh. The bathroom could use an update, but it was clean! Breakfast bar always nice and clean. Lobby area nice. Hampton Inn are always reliable. This is a good choice for a hotel stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MyAkitaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello MyAkitaBear!

Thanks so much for your loyalty to Hampton and thanks also for your business and review for our property!

We are so glad to hear that you were comfortable and welcomed! We are also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast while you were here!

We are aware of our dated guest bathrooms and will soon be entering into a full room renovation to update the rooms and guest bathrooms! We are very very excited!

Thanks again for staying and connecting through Tripadvisor! We do appreciate the input!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We always try to stay at Hampton Inns whenever possible, however this time we were traveling with our little dog, most do not allow pets...However were we very surprised & pleased that this Hampton Inn did allow pets. I sincerely thank Management/Owner for this policy! :)

We also wish to thank the front desk agent, Don Horn - he was very friendly & helpful.

Gave them "five" stars as they did not have MSNBS!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Zabieann!

Thanks so much for your kind words! I will pass this along to the team and be sure to give Don kudos!

I am glad the hotel worked out for you and your pet dog! I too travel with my two dogs and understand how important it is to have them stay with me.

I wish you and yours safe travels!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
425 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I like staying at Hampton Inn because there are no surprises. The rooms are always clean, the staff pleasant, the breakfast varied and things always work. Used the fitness center which was fine. My only complaint is no MSNBC on TV.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Marblehead750!

Thanks so much for staying with us and thanks also for posting a review!

I remember when you checked in and called the front desk to inquire about MSNBC. I checked the channels for you and was surprised that we did not have it! Please know I made a note about it as we are updating channels in the near future and I hope to have it on the updated line up.

Thanks again for your business and loyalty!

Travel Safe!

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 27 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlisle

Property: Hampton Inn Carlisle
Address: 1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel in 2014! The area around the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Carlisle boasts dozens of reasons to visit. For history buffs, there's Gettysburg nearby as well as The Whiskey Rebellion. We're home to Carlisle Barracks, the second-oldest military installation in the United States. George Washington himself admired our town and suggested the location of the barracks. You can explore much of Carlisle's history at the Cumberland County Historical Society's museum. It's all just minutes away from our hotel in Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing