We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed here several times and always appreciate its location and welcoming staff. Even our little dog likes i! The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast area is large enough to accommodate the guests and the staff is exceedingly helpful. It is one mile off of I-81 and near restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzJaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 744 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent a night at the Hampton Inn Carlisle PA while travelling by car from the Northeast to the Midwest. It is very conveniently located on the road that connects Interstate 81 with the PA Turnpike. I picked this hotel over some of the lower priced alternatives in the area because it is a non-smoking hotel. While the public areas on the ground floor were being renovated, this did not affect our room. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. the included breakfast was good. WiFi worked well. The hotel is on the outer edge of Carlisle. I recommend you take a look around the town before continuing your journey. It's very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoPoME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived to find this Hampton Inn adorned by a construction permit. One of the desk staff, when I asked, said that the location had been operating for 12 years now and Hilton had recently decided to bring it up to "Hampton standards". Right now they're working on the common spaces, mostly the lobby; in the next year they're hoping to bring the guest rooms up to snuff.

That's fortunate, and I would perhaps have rated them lower if they hadn't been addressing those issues. Frankly, our room was not well-appointed. The decor is dingy and the finishes show signs of wear. The bed was comfy, but the sofa felt like concrete. The desk on which my laptop rested was rickety and too high for comfortable use. No closet space--rather a wardrobe with limited capacity. Mini-fridge, TV, chairs, coffee table--it was all a little crowded and clumsy.

Another minor frustration--the little courtesy hygiene items in the bath were packaged with caps that were brutally hard to open. Whoever works with the manufacturer of those things should get them to re-design.

The hotel has a little fitness room with just a couple of treadmills, a bike, and an elliptical. Probably serviceable for short stays.

The plus side here, and it's huge, is that the staff was so friendly, efficient and cheerful that I barely knew how to respond. Most notable was Star, the young woman who administered the breakfast buffet. Now, this buffet was a nice cut above the usual, they did have all the pastry-and-cereal options and that flip-over waffle iron that I'd come to love when staying in a motel, but they also had great mini-cheese omelettes and fresh fruit salad, so I felt my diet was balanced. All the while, Star moved about making certain that everything was well stocked and clean, greeting everyone and offering help without being obtrusive. She's a treasure and I hope her manager reads this.

Honestly, I started out rather disappointed at the value of this location. Judging by room and price alone, I'd have rated it a 3. But the quality of the breakfast and especially the congenial staff won me over. When the renovations are complete, I might rate this place a 5. They're doing things right, even if a little slow to upgrade the facility.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very clean and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful! Location is a bit tricky to find but once there, we were greeted and given directions into town to a local restaurant we really enjoyed. Room was clean and large. I'll stay again if I'm in this area!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed here many nights for business. I stopped doing so about 1 1/2 years ago. It was a perpetual mix of poor service, rooms that smelled of smoking, and sloppy management. I stayed last night. I was pleasantly surprised to see the site was now non-smoking, and the desk clerk was friendly. This morning halfway through my shower all hot water disappeared. This Hampton is clueless. I travel 200+ nights a year. This is one of the worst hotels in the mix. I will be back to staying elsewhere when in Carlisle.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Busywithbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vince1230, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I would like to thank you for your review about the hotel. It was nice to see that you noticed the change to nonsmoking and also the new staff at the hotel. I do want to apologize for the issues with the hot water. We have spent the last few months try to track down the problem of the hot water issues. Due to the random problems it was hard for the hotel as well as two local plumbing companies to figure out what the problem was. I am proud to say that the problem as been addressed and should not happen again. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so I make personally welcome you back to our hotel. We are currenly renovating the lobby and rooms will be renovated at the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just back from a trip that started and ended with a one night stay here. In the middle were a number of similar level motels and everything about this Hampton was above average. The helpful staff, clean modern rooms with nothing to get in the way of peaceful night’s sleep, and the location just off the interstate make this a great place to stop. They are pet-friendly which we greatly appreciate. As my British friends like to say, “no worries here, mate”.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoTheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our stay here was very pleasing. Everyone was so helpful and accommodating! Check-in was effortless, breakfast was delicious, room service was extremely polite, etc.

If I could give this property a 6-Star Review, I would.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Carlisle
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlisle

Address: 1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: $113 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel in 2014! The area around the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Carlisle boasts dozens of reasons to visit. For history buffs, there's Gettysburg nearby as well as The Whiskey Rebellion. We're home to Carlisle Barracks, the second-oldest military installation in the United States. George Washington himself admired our town and suggested the location of the barracks. You can explore much of Carlisle's history at the Cumberland County Historical Society's museum. It's all just minutes away from our hotel in Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing