We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had to stay in a hotel after issues with our house forced us out in a 20 minutes time frame. Our family (Mom, Dad, 3 kids & the dog) were a bit frazzeled and unprepared to leave the house. To say the least, we were not the most organized or calmest guests that walked into this hotel. We were treated very well. The room was very clean and spacious. It was a great experience. I hghly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to provide us with positive feedback. We are glad we could accommodate you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    92
    35
    14
    5
See reviews for
79
52
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here overnight when visiting my daughter at Dickinson. Room was spacious and the staff was friendly. Loads of little shops and non chain related restaurants. You must check out the Hamilton for a hot-chee dog if you stay here. Housekeeping went out of their way to get us extra towels when asked for them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Carlisle. I informed the staff of your kind words of praise. On your next visit, I recommend you try the Gas Light Grille. Their Chicken Chesapeake and Grilled Portobello sandwiches are fantastic, as well as other choices on the menu!

My staff and I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A nice, spacious room - two double beds, a couch, coffee table, two armchairs, fridge, microwave. Definitely well appointed, but also a bit run down - couch had a bunch of stains on it and the room was not exceptionally clean. The internet service, as others have mentioned was a bit slow and spotty but it wasn't terrible. The biggest problem was that the room was very warm and when we wanted to cool it off to sleep, the AC turned out not to work. It was a miserable night; finally opened the window but then it got too cold. I don't blame the hotel for this; they couldn't have - or might not have known - that the HVAC wasn't working properly. But, when I told the front desk staff in the morning, no one even apologized or made any at restitution. That really bothered me! THe bathroom was quite small, altho adequate, but the shower twice went from hot to freezing when I was showering and that was very unpleasant. Exercise facilities were disappointing- the stair stepper wasn't working and most of the cardio machines lacked a place to put a water bottle or ipod. The equipment was also not very high-quality. Breakfast was fine - a reasonable variety and a reasonably attractive breakfast area. All in all, although conveniently located to Dickinson College - our reason for being in town - I don't think that I would stay there again as there were too many downsides.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. On behalf of Comfort Suites, Carlisle, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. We truly strive to ensure our guests experience the best visit possible and it is unfortunate we fell short of our goal this time. I spoke with my team about the poor customer service you received, and have a training session arranged to help them learn new effective customer service skills.

We truly appreciate your business and hope this event will not keep you from returning to our establishment. I would personally like to send you an offer for your next stay. Unfortunately, I do not have contact information for you outside of TripAdvisor. I sent you a private message through TripAdvisor; if for some reason you do not receive the message, please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit.

Again, I truly apologize for the experience you had.

Sincerely,

Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an update to an earlier review I posted regarding this specific hotel 90 days ago. This hotel underwent a remarkable change since my last visit, most notably with the restaurant and internet capabilities.
The menu selection was almost entirely replaced with new entrees, from fish and chips, my personal favorite, to a very good cut of New York Strip. During my stay, I noticed many different patrons ordering the same meal more than once. Leading me to believe they also enjoyed their selection, the Pulled Pork and Portabella Mushroom sandwiches seemed to be favorites.
The internet capability was greatly enhanced over the past 90 days, probably due to a new service provider. Be cautious though, evening hours brings congestion. One note on the TVs, for some reason the TVs have had the HDMI input connectors removed and covered, no joy when attempting to connect the TV to a laptop.
It seems that after these past 90 days this hotel is moving in the right direction. I hope that the next 90 days will see the same improvements that include a new treadmill and better furniture. I was not aware until later that the double bed rooms do not have desk chairs in them, even though they have a desk. The staff was more than helpful when I requested one be brought up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south are quieter, higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are a gamer and staying in Carlisle, PA for a night or more skip this hotel, the internet connection is appalling. With download speeds barely breaking 1 Mbps and uploads averaging .50 Mbps you can forget about any multiplayer action and watching streaming video is simply aggravating. The connection resets/times out relentlessly which only adds to the annoyance, especially when coordinating separate actions with multiple windows open.
On the plus side there are two or three drinking establishments that are within walking distance, alas there is not a steak house to be found. The “Delmonico steak” found in the hotels’ restaurant is really a Top Sirloin that almost reaches a half inch in height, but not quite. However, the wings are very good.
Therefore, if your thing is to stay in what feels like a 40-year-old Holiday Inn that was sold, renovated with cheap furniture and renamed the “all new Comfort Suites”, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather266, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience regarding our hotel. We strive on guest satisfaction and I sincerely apologize you did not find our accommodations up to standards. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. Please be assured the issues you've shared have been addressed. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Thank you again for your suggestions.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice jacuzzi suite here. Pillows were soooo comfy! Bedding was nice. Room was spacious, nicely decorated, and clean. Great location too. Noon check-out made for a relaxing morning. Carlisle bakery one block down had amazing pastries.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOHOnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We strive on customer satisfaction, and are pleased to know you were satisfied. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our new pillows! We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Thank you again, for your positive comments.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip. Rooms were sizeable, clean and quiet. There is parking and the staff is very friendly.

They also have a very good continental breakfast with hot and cold foods. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mldollaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback. I am pleased you found the staff friendly and enjoyed our continental breakfast. We recently added the hot omelettes as one of our breakfast items, we also include: hot meat, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, two choices of waffles, cereal, donuts, muffins, and fresh fruit. I am glad to hear you found the room quiet and clean. We strive to make our guests stay comfortable.

We look forward to seeing you on your next business trip to Carlisle.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 27 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Carlisle
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 10 S. Hanover Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites, situated in the HEART of historic downtown Carlisle, ideally located one mile from 1-81, Exit 47 to 34 North, three miles from PA Turnpike, Exit 226 to Route 11 South, to 34 South. A 105 room all suites hotel with meeting and banquet facilities for up to 400 people, the Comfort Suites Hotel will provide all the amenities the discerning business or leisure traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Carlisle
Comfort Suites Carlisle
Carlisle Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing