We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time as great as the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Canonsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“2nd time as great as the first!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Attended a wedding here for the second year in a row and loved the hotel as much as the first time. Front desk staff are very nice, rooms very well appointed and general upkeep perfect. Our child forgot something in the room and when we called the front desk we were put on hold while they called housekeeping. Housekeeping confirmed that our forgottten item was found and it would be at the front desk for easy pick up. Appreicated the help!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontstayathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    145
    48
    9
    11
See reviews for
142
99
23
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Southpointe HGI is a beautifully appointed hotel in a remote industrial / golf complex. Room was nicely furnished with microwave and mini-fridge. Air conditioner was loud for anyone who is a light sleeper, but staff was very accommodating when we asked to have it checked and also when slow flushing toilet needed maintenance twice. We stayed as part of a military salute special to their bed
and breakfast rate, but most of the staff was not familiar with the program and we kept needing to ask for the breakfast vouchers. The breakfast was average for a HGI with fresh fruit and cooked to order items. Each night of our 3 night stay had a banquet event but we could not hear anything on the fourth floor and only finding parking was inconvenient. For those looking to swim - pool was very cold and hot tub was really hot but pool area was clean. If you are staying for one night - enjoy, but if you are looking for a long weekend - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMEmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed at this Hilton Garden Inn because it was a half-way point for meeting friends for a weekend of hanging out and catching up. It's close enough to access Pittsburgh within 20 minutes by car, but farther out than you'd want to stay if Pittsburgh was your main destination. Beautiful views as it's situated on top of a hill. It appeared that this is a prime location for business events and banquets, wedding receptions, etc. all of which were happening during our stay. And still it was a quiet and comfortable experience.

Rooms were clean and spacious, we had an unexpectedly decent view of the rolling hills. Bathroom was clean with basic shampoo/soap/conditioner and hairdryer provided. Towels had seen better days but were adequate. Iron/board in closet, though there were only four hangers in our two-bed room. The microwave and fridge were clean and fully functional, a big plus for us. Lobby was bright and clean and front desk staff were nice, though not real knowledgeable about directions or attractions.

The biggest downside to this hotel is it's location. It's situated in a business park (again, it seems it is meant for business events) and there are no real dining options. The hotel restaurant hours were very limited and the Subway across the street even closed quite early. There's one of everything a couple exits away, but it really didn't make this a convenient location for us.

Pool and fitness area were very well maintained and all common areas were clean. Unfortunately we had someone smoking on our non-smoking floor (we actually think it might have been a maintenance person in a storage room) but if it was another guest the hotel cannot be held responsible. It was just a bit bothersome.

I would recommend the hotel as a slightly better than average place to stay if you needed to be in this suburban area, but if you are looking for shops, restaurants, and attractions at your doorstep, head to Pittsburgh proper.

Room Tip: clarify where smoking and non-smoking rooms meet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dryadFortWayneIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2011

My daughter and I went to the NRA Show in Pittsburgh and stayed in Canonsburg. The hotel is a convienent commute to the city, we went on the weekend and considered taking the "T", but we found out parking was $5 to park all day in city garage close to the Convention Center. Taking the "T" was $3.50 each way per person, plus $2 to park. We also visited the Tanger Outlet which is real close to the hotel. I found a good deal on some Timberland boots, then promptly left them in the closet at the hotel. When we returned home I noticed them missing, I called the housekeeping staff at the hotel and they went and looked and found them for me. They promptly mailed them to me when I gave them my credit card information. I didn't think I would see them again, I am super happy with the staff for taking care of my forgetfullness!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincy, Oh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Just spent a couple of nights at this Garden Inn. Nice place overall. Friendly staff. Too bad there isn't more places to eat nearby. Your choices are a Subway across the parking lot that may or may not be open. There is a Chinese restaurant next to Subway. One exit down you have a Wendys, McD's, KFC and other typical fast foods. Too bad there isn't any bar and grill type places adjacent or close. I found it to be convenient for a short drive to Pittsburg.

However, I would skip Jacksons Restaurant. Very pricey and a snooty staff. Needs to have "common" fare on the menu. This is IMO a type of place you would go for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chihuahua014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here the night before and after the outdoor Winter Classic at Heinz Field on New Year's Day. We drove into downtown Pittsburgh several times during our stay; the hotel is right along I-79 which made getting in and out of the city a breeze. Staff was friendly, room was clean and well-priced, pool, hot tub, and exercise room were all excellent. Breakfast was decent. The only downside is there does not seem to be much to eat in the immediate vicinity, other than the in-house restaurant and the Subway in the parking lot. But again, the location was so convenient to downtown we ended up eating there for almost every meal. A steal!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breelack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Everyone was very polite and helpful at check in, our room was clean and the bed very comfortable! I should have brought my own pillow in that I like a more flat not puffy pillow, but the bed was amazingly comfortable. We had some people at 2 in the morning yelling in the hall which could happen anywhere. Price was great would definately return when visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazypennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canonsburg
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh SW - Southpointe
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Bridgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh South
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#6 of 20 in Washington
310 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh-Bridgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe
Address: 1000 Corporate Dr, Canonsburg, PA 15317-8555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Canonsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Canonsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe. Where fine accommodations, excellence in food and comfortable surroundings are not the exception but the standard. Point south to the premier meeting location that offers functionality and fun. Someplace that provides the excellence of the Hilton HHonors Program. The Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe offers the comforts of home with the following features and amenities:Hotel Features~175 Guest Rooms with 42 Suites and 2 Jacuzzi Rooms~Great American Grill serving Breakfast~18,000 Square Feet of Meeting and Event Facilities~Complimentary 24 hour Business Center~Golf Packages Available~Complete Conference Services Staff and Audio/Visual Team~24-Hour Pavilion Pantry Convenience Mart~Complimentary Guest Parking~Complimentary Usage of our Fitness Center~Indoor Swimming Pool and Whirlpool ~Evening Room Service~Jackson Restaurant Guest Room Amenities~Microwave, Refrigerator and Coffee Maker~Two Dual-Line Speakerphones with Voice Mail and Data Ports~Large Work Desk with Convenient Desk-Level Outlets, Adjustable Lighting and Ergonomic Chair~Hair Dryer, Full-Sized Irons and Ironing Boards~Free High Speed Internet AccessJacksons Restaurant-Rotisserie-Bar~200 Seat Upscale Dining with a Warm Casual Atmosphere~Serving a Wide Variety of American Cuisine with an International Flair~Natural Slate, Wood, Stone and Metal Décor Featuring a Fireplace ~Display Kitchen with a Wood Burning Grill, Brick Oven and Rotisserie~Private Dining Room for up to 20 People~18 Seat Bar with Additional Table Seating~Outdoor Patio for Seasonal Dining~Serving Lunch and Dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe Hotel Canonsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Canonsburg
Hilton Canonsburg
Canonsburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing