We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Canonsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and professional”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, friendly staff, well priced and just a comfortable place to stay outside of pittsburgh

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Homewood Suites - Pittsburgh/Southpointe! We take great pride in providing a comfortable stay with excellent service while making you feel like you're a member of our family. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    92
    17
    12
    1
See reviews for
184
79
17
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This HS was a welcome familiar face after an incredibly long day. We checked in just before midnight, and the clerk was as cheerful as if we had walked in the door at 6 pm.

Our room was just right - looked like the vast majority of other HS we have used. The laundry worked, we had paper towels under the sink, and since we brought our own oats, we found out the stove top works too!

This location was pretty far off from the city, but we were glad since we were coming from OH.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corn&Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Homewood Suites - Pittsburgh/Southpointe. Our staff tries to welcome all of our guests as though you a friend in our home. I'm happy to hear that you found your room to be comfortable. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you through the Pittsburgh/Canonsburg area.
Diane Keally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This one ends our streak of good stays at homewood suites across the country. I think they barely make the homewood grade. A few issues we had over the 3 days we stayed there:

- Inspite of repeatedly requesting them over phone, cribs were still not ready for our twins. After 30 mnts of checking in and calling the front desk, somebody brought the cribs to the room and left it at the door (Do It Yourself , after 7 hrs of driving !)
- No Center table and chair in the sitting room. No writing desk in the bedroom. Small LCD TVs.
- Stale breakfast. Scrambled eggs with a dry layer on top. No bread served at breakfast for 2 out of 3 days.
- Key card kept expiring. Had to walk up to the front desk twice, at 11 in the night.
- Even after informing the front desk that we would checkout an hour late, a bouncer knocked the door and asked us to leave !!

Room Tip: Try taking a room closer to the elevators since expiring keycards is a common problem with this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Homewood Suites - Pittsburgh/Southpointe. I'm so sorry that your stay as less than satisfactory. We are now under new management and have made changes to improve the quality of service and product that we offer. I hope that you will give us another try when your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh. Feel free to personally contact me at the hotel and I will be happy to ensure that your next stay is EXCELLENT!
Diane Keally
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here on President's weekend 2012. Very nice hotel, exceptionally quiet.
Negatives:
1. only a few dishes in kitchenette. No paper plates, etc in lobby..they use glass dishes. Also, no dish soap and trash bags were tiny and not the best for a kitchen.
2.the cholrine in pool area seemed extra strong. Eyes burn just sitting in pool area
3. virtually no street signs in area leading to hotel (if coming from the north).
4. No stores nearby. Drove and drove to get to store to bring back dinner. Should have stopped in Pittsburgh and picked up food and supplies before heading to this hotel. I am used to Hampton Inn and expected that there would be paper products in the lobby. There was not.

Positives:
1. Very comfortable. Felt like an apartment not like a hotel room.
2. Exceptionally quiet.
3. Very nice area
4. Staff is very helpful
Definite business opportunity for someone to open a drug store or grocery in the area.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The location of the hotel is a little odd, it's within a business district...however within that business district is the ice rink where the Pittsburgh Penguins practice and farm teams play games. The hotel room was spacious, clean, comfortable and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and a complimentary FULL breakfast (NOT the typical free continental breakfast) is served every morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellam20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was here for the weekend as my regular hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh was sold out due to the Steelers game.

As others have mentioned it is a recently built Homewood Suites, the room and public areas are gorgeous and well maintained, I have stayed in the Brand a lot, and this is by far the best one I have stayed in. It could easily be a 4 star Hotel, in fact the Suite I stayed in, I could see costing 4 figures a night if I was in somewhere like New York or London – see the photos

It is in the Middle of an Industrial Park, so if you are unfamiliar with the area, probably best to get directions beforehand – or even better use GPS. There is not much directly close, but several places within a drive, if you are here on the weekend, the one thing -it will be is quiet!

As a hotel it was great, so where were the problems?

As a Hilton Honors Member I typically check in online beforehand, where I can select my room, sowhen I get there it’s just a case of hand over my ID/Credit Card, grab room keys and I am on my way. I just booked the standard room but during online check in I was given the option of their Whirlpool Suite, so I thought “what the heck”.

I arrive - the receptionist took my info, but instead of handing me the keys, she started typing like crazy on the keyboard. After doing this for a good minute, I ask if there is a problem, she suddenly says “No No” and then hands me my keys, I feel almost reluctantly.

When it came time to check out, as a Diamond Member I can get a late checkout (Subject to availability) but I have *never* had a problem at any Hilton brand in getting at least 1pm, even when the hotel in question was full – until now. I called down, and was immediately declined. I hate the pull “Status card” so to speak, as I know it comes up in the Hotel System, also I think it stinks of “Don’t you know who I am?”, but they “Generously” gave me an additional 30 mins. I would understand if they were busy, but when I came to leave the lobby was dead and the car park was 25% full

Its probably my mind playing tricks on me, but at check-in and check out I was left with the distinct impression that I was given a room that the front desk didn’t feel I was “entitled” to, so they were going to treat me accordingly. I will concur that HHonors status does not get you a room upgrade on the Homewood Suites brand, but I am not going to turn one down if offered via online check in.

As far as rooms go, in the immediate area you probably are not going to do much better – but having a fantastic modern hotel isn’t going to help you, if you don’t have the staff to back it up. If my plans call for me to be in the area I will probably look at other options

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for New Years Eve, as it was pretty much the only decent hotel with availability at the time. The rooms were very nice and spacious. Was really nice to have the kitchen and extra sitting area to hang out in before the festivities. The staff wasn't super friendly, but I attribute that to being overwhelmed as I understand they were later overbooked and had to find other accommodations for some guests.

The location of this hotel, although convenient off of 79, it still seems kinda remote. The reason for our visit was to go to Meadowlands Casino. It was within a reasonable distance. But we were told that the hotel shuttle only offered service within a 5 mile range (casino 5.7 miles) and no taxi's would come up to the hotel. Because of this, we will likely not return to this hotel if we go to the casino again (probably not, that's another review). However, the good news is, they must have had so many requests that night that they later called us and said that they would be running a shuttle to the casino for the rest of the night. So good for us, although he was a horrible driver!

Room Tip: Our friends had room 508. This was right next to the elevator which they heard the "ding"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssalcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canonsburg
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh SW - Southpointe
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh South/Meadows Racetrack & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh-Bridgeville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Meadow Lands
12.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Airport Robinson Mall Area, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe
Address: 3000 Horizon Vue Dr, Canonsburg, PA 15317-7539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Canonsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Canonsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-suite, extended-stay hotel in Canonsburg, PA is located in the Southpointe Business Park - just 30 minutes from downtown Pittsburgh - less than one mile away from the Southpointe Golf Club and the Iceoplex (the official practice rink of the Pittsburgh Penguins). Enjoy bargain shopping at the Tanger Outlets (seven miles away) or place wagers at the Meadows Racetrack and Casino (five miles away). Enjoy fully-equipped kitchens with full-sized refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove and dishwasher. Complimentary WiFi is included with your stay, as well as our on-site basketball court, fitness room and swimming pool. We have 672 sq. ft. of available meeting space with accommodations for up to 40 people, and a 24-hour business center. We're 25 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport. Enjoy complimentary hot full breakfast, as well as our evening social* (Monday - Thursday). Complimentary tea, water and coffee are served in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh - Southpointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Pittsburgh-Southpointe Hotel Canonsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing