We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, poor service, a bit pricey near Capital City Mall”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #42 of 110 Restaurants in Camp Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Legendary Food, Legendary Service
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service, a bit pricey near Capital City Mall”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This was about our fifth vist, and certainly the worst from a customer service perspective. The hostess totally botched the seating for our large party, and then both she and the manager both made different excuses for what happened. The food was good and decent portions, but it is not a cheap meal for what you get. I recommend the free rolls and cinnamon butter, salads, and chicken. The steaks are hit or miss, as they don't seem to have as good a cut or uniform seasoning as similar steak roadhouses.

Helpful?
Thank tlcshopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    13
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food & Fun/Casual Atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

First, I'd like to clarify the location of this eatery. It is located in Camp Hill, PA, which is located in Cumberland County, PA - not Cumberland Valley. :(

If you've never eaten at a Texas Roadhouse - be prepared to eat a lot! The restaurant's atmosphere is casual....there are peanut shells on the floor - sit down, eat a few, toss a few on the floor & relax!! Once you are seated, the server will give you a basket of soft, delicious rolls with cinnamon butter (trust me - these are great)! Next the beverages are served in decent sized glasses - so you aren't constantly asking for refills. Most meals are served with two (2) sides. If you leave here hungry - it's your own fault. The service for the most part is very good, but like all establishments, some servers are better than others. A highlight for the younger members of your group: periodically, the servers gather in a line & all do a line dance. It's for fun! Enjoy yourself!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5253JVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sometimes Long waits, but worth it!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I frequent this place at least once a month. We usually always get the same thing (steak meal & pulled pork meal) you can not beat their price for this certain steak meal. $9.99 includes rolls, 6oz sirloin (excellent quality) your choice of potato and a vegetable (broccoli usually) everything is absolutely mouth watering! The steak is cooked to perfection according to your taste. I get my steak well done and its never gummy or hard. The mashed potatoes are literally "to die for!" Such and awesome flavor. The broccoli is perfectly steamed and has just the right crunch. My husband loves the open faced pulled pork sandwich. He is really picky about pulled pork and has had many horrible experiences from other top name restaraunts. The atmosphere is a bit loud, some random waitress dancing to country music and singing/shouting are to be expected at times. The booths are a little hard, but nothing you can't handle for an hr or so. We have always had amazingly nice waiters/waitresses, never any issue! If you plan in eating here on a weekend make sure you leave before you starvation mode kicks in because it can be a lengthy wait at times. I recommend this place 100% to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandBAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
426 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Big (as in Texas) Disappointment”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I visited last week for a late (7:30) dinner. Everyone was in close it down and go home mode from the front desk to my server to the kitchen. I ordered an expensive steak medium rare. It came well done. I sent it back(my server was not happy). Should have kept it. The second steak was cooked right but they seemed to find the toughest piece of meat in the kitchen. It will be a long time before I return and I have been a regular customer at this location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Cook quit the night before?”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very busy establishment with a great menu. Unfortunately the cook quit earlier in the week so the steak I ordered was a bit over done. They offered to replace it, but being with a group of two other people, I did not want to make them uncomfortable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sigmada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing