We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something New...It paid off!”
Review of The Chop Shop

The Chop Shop
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Butler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something New...It paid off!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is my new favorite restaurant of all time, until i find a new one which will be hard to find. My fiance and I had heard about this place since it had opened but never ate there until this past weekend. We loved to old signs! we both are into antique and old things so this place was really neat! loved the atmosphere they also have a few tables in a patio looking at main street. I grew up in the Butler area and when i saw the old Hot Dog Shop sign I flipped out!!!! that was amazing! The food was wonderfully amazing too. i went out of my comfort zone and ordered the Rueben (i have never ordered rueben anywhere b/c i am too afraid to try so usually someone else orders it). well it was was something new for me...oh my was it good! i will definitely be ordering it again in the future with the chips or fries!! WONDERFUL PLACE TO EAT WITH ANYONE. GREAT FOOD, ATMOSPHERE, JUST ALL AROUND GREAT PLACE! Very impressed and very reasonable priced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    48
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you are in Butler and don't eat here , you are wrong.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

From the extensive yet slightly irreverent main menu to the rotating soup and nightly dinner specials, no meal here will be less than spectacular. The decor is clean ,spacious

Helpful?
1 Thank coyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband & I recently went to Chop Shop! The menu had some very interesting items! For ex taco with rabbit meat! We had the special entree of the evening & the Redneck sandwich. As desert, the pineapple upside down cheesecake! But the quantity was big, only ate one & packed the entree so we can eat the desert! Food is all cooked on the spot, they don't own a microwave!!! The deserts are all made by owners mom! Lots of flavor...we will go back for sure! Best part every couple of months they change their menu...introduce new items!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana_Yaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, cool interior”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

3 of us went for first time. one had shrimp wrap, one had reuben sandwich, and one had burger. also side salads and sweet potato fries. ALL EXCELLENT and Huge quantity. About $8-$10 for lunch. Uniquely written menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Different, but excellent food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The food is very different but so good. I got their homemade potato chips - they gave some regular potatoes and some sweet potatoes chips! Fantastic! I also got the special of the day. It was a chicken wrap with spinach, feta cheese, roasted red peppers and tomatoes, It had an unique lemon mayonaise on it. It was absolutely delicious!!!! My husband had the pulled pork sandwich called the "Doc" and he loved it! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperPlanner98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chop Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Chop Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing