We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thon Weekend @ Penn State”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We came up to State College for Thon weekend, my daughter is involved with student government. We checked in around 8pm. The following morning breakfast was down stairs. The Front Desk Staff was very pleasant especially the woman that worked the swing shift she recommended a nice Italian Restaurant the food was great and service was good. Rooms were clean not real fancy but clean is much more important to us. Thanks we will be back next year for Thon and Graduation!!!
Sincerely,
Tina McEvoy

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ern104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 257 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stopped in without a reservation on our way back from Harrisburg airport because the weather was not good. We weren't expecting a lot from a Super 8, but just needed a place to sleep for one night. The motel far exceeded our expectations! Large rooms that are nicely appointed and very clean, friendly staff, and great rates on top of that!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

My husband and another couple decided to stay at the Super 8 the night before a Penn State game. We live 3 hours away, so it made sense to drive up the night before. The Super 8 is about 30 minutes away from Beaver Stadium, and it is worth it to stay outside of State College because the prices are much more reasonable. The Super 8 was right off of 322 - so it was very easy to find and convenient. We had a room with 2 queen beds. It was very clean and maintained. Our only complaint with the room is that the pillows were very flat and uncomfortable. I would recommend bringing your own. The staff was great. The free breakfast is from 6-10 a.m. - there isn't much more than muffins and cereal, but it was nice to have free coffee/tea before we left. Parking is safe and secure. Just a few minutes from the hotel there are several restuarant, Kmart, Walmart, etc.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleynicole1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel several times for extended periods. The staff has always been helpful, and the rooms have always been cleaned and well cared for. There's really not much else to the place, it's pretty basic. The state fire academy is located in nearby Lewistown, and this hotel is about 5 minutes from there taking Rt 322. Numerous local resturants and pubs are a short few minute drive away, Along with an awesome community park.

If you are a firefighter, let them know and they will give you the AAA rate, just show them your acceptence letter from the PSA.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGC525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I was in Room 210 and am so miserable and hysterical because my body is covered with bed bug bites. It has been 3 days since I left and had only been there one night.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
Thank djwgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2008

My family and I stayed at the super 8 hotel and it was absolutly horrible!! The rooms were not clean..bathrooms were horrible..there was urine residue at the bottom of the toilet. carpets were not swept..beds not very comfortable..and my 7 year old son woke up with bed bug bites all over him..if your hotel has bed bugs..you should shut it done until the problem is taken off..it was an absolute disgrace..the best thing about staying there was leaving..i DO NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!! so we left and went over to the quality inn which is no more then half a mile away..and it was EXCELLENT!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xap2r4ilx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

My family and I just returned from staying three nights at this property while we attended the Nittany Antique Machinery Show in Centre Hall, PA. Overall, this is a nice little motel to stay at for the $$$$$. Rooms were very clean. Maid delivered more towels and pillows when we requested them. When we checked in, the lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. During our stay, we talked to a man at the front desk and he wasn't as polite and helpful. Kids were disappointed that the hotel had no indoor pool. Breakfast area was "very tiny" and you felt you were in everyone's way. Breakfast tables only sat about three feet away from check in desk. Breakfast consists of donuts, muffins, toast, English muffins, orange and apple juice, and coffee. For this time of year, fresh fruit would of been nice. Our room was a little small, next time we would request bigger room if they have one. Beds very comfortable. Noise level on the last night was a little much but bearable. For the $$$$ we had a nice clean room where we could get a shower and have a comfortable night's rest. Would go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacati0nm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Burnham
5.4 mi away
Best Western Nittany Inn Milroy
11.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Mifflintown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Knights Inn Mifflintown
Knights Inn Mifflintown
#1 of 2 in Mifflintown
21 reviews
18.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
17.1 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown

Address: 12886 Ferguson Valley Rd, Burnham, PA 17009-1842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Burnham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burnham
Price Range: $71 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown hotel is centrally located in the Appalachian Mountains with easy access to State College. We offer convenient amenities that help you rest and relax before you hit the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Burnham/Lewistown Hotel Burnham
Super Eight Burnham
Burnham Super 8
Burnham Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing