We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit overpriced but still a good night out!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sola byob

Sola byob
Ranked #8 of 70 Restaurants in Bryn Mawr
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Penn
Transit: Bryn Mawr R5 stop is about 1/4 mile away from the restaurant.
Description: At Sola, our mission is to be regarded as an outstanding fine dining destination & a valued treasure of the Main Line & greater community. We strive to serve contemporary cuisine in an intimate & pleasing room with the proper level of service (not too much, not too little). We want our guests to enjoy the window of time that they spend with us, savoring their food & wine & enjoying the company of their friends & family. Our intent is to always remain a BYOB, knowing how important that is to many of our guests. Sola will provide a dynamic menu, driven by what is available fresh for the season. The expectation is that everyone will find a number of choices that appeal to their palate. Our wish is that most of our guests will become regulars & will view us a spot they can enthusiastically recommend to their friends & can rely on when hosting visitors.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bit overpriced but still a good night out!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This restaurant, while having a nice ambiance, was a bit overpriced for what it offered. The menu offers a variety of seemingly interesting dishes, but the service was a bit slow (it took 50 mins from the time we were seated to be served!) Still, the food was tasty, and the ambiance is nice for a date night. A bit overpriced- they may need to re-think their prices and/or provide more refined food and service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1966Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    8
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok... just, but wayyyy overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

A lesson in why you should never assume food and service are excellent based on sky high prices. The food was good and if you're careful about what you order it can be worth it. Service was, however, spotty in an empty restaurant. Atmosphere is pleasant.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank siabniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would have rated higher but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food was good and nicely presented. For the prices that they charge, a $2 corkage charge is insulting and pretty silly. Two guests had a bit of wine from two bottles and we were charged $4. Given that the total for four people was over $200 the $4 was annoying and the reason we won't return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phillytravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What an unpleasant experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Overated food, a dry bouillabaise! Rude management and staff who rushed us to leave without even one and three quarter hours hours for a meal including desert. Asked to leave before we had finished with the meal. Upset our cllients. Neither we nor our clients will ever set foot in this establishment again while the present management is in place! There are mahy better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great Restaurant, not to be passed over.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have been there many different times and have always enjoyed it. Actually, it is one of my favorites in the Main Line Area outside of Philadelphia. I went there with my eating group of wine lovers and world travelers. I have also been there with the Wine and Food Society, The tasting menu last night was luscious. and we all ordered it., to our pleasure. It is a BYO so bring your best wines. Note, there is a $2.00 corkage fee but well worth having a great wine or two to make your experience a pleasurable one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank halg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sola byob also viewed

 

Been to Sola byob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing