We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pompous staff, wonderful Greek cuisine”

Lourdas Greek Taverna
Ranked #16 of 71 Restaurants in Bryn Mawr
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Highland Lakes, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pompous staff, wonderful Greek cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you can put your opinions of the staff aside, have cash in hand and bring your own wine, then Lourdas is a treasure. I thought the food was reasonably priced, exceptionally tasty and the presentation was lovely. What I did not appreciate was the rudeness of the waiter, who interrupted a pleasant exchange I was having with a neighboring table, to let me know my table was reserved for a 7:30 seating and he needed my order. I am torn as to whether or not I'll return. The food was good enough that I want to give it another chance, but I am not thrilled I should even have to weigh things out like this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“First Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

A friend invited us to dinner here -- we had not heard of the place, as we live well to the north. Lourdas is on the "square" in Bryn Mawr (too bad they have not removed the parking lot to create a green!) and is small, but bright. Noise level is a bit high, but typical for a bistro style place. If the sidewalk was wider, perhaps some outside seating would be nice. We brought our CASH and our bottle of wine. The server was very good -- uncorked bottles right away, drink orders offered for soft drinks, water refilled regularly. We asked him to come back several times, since we were chatting -- not a problem, but he wanted to make sure we did not feel we were being left without service. The group ordered several appetizers which were very good, in particular, the scallops. For the Main course, three of us had the whole dorad and the salmon. The dorad was excellent -- flavorful and perfectly cooked. The vegetables were acceptable, if a bit plain. Desserts were very good as well with offers of additional coffee. Overall, a very enjoyable night out, good, attentive service, good food, reasonable prices for fresh fish. I will go back and try this place again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have been going to Lourdas for years because we know it is the place to go for authentic Greek food. The grilled lamb chops are always cooked to perfection! Also, try the pan seared diver scallops, sauteed spinach and grilled whole fish of the day. Everything is always fresh and delicious! Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sledloll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
934 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
“I am Not a Fan!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Lourdas is right next to the Bryn Mawr train station. It's a tiny hole in the wall. It's simple, a square room with some cheap art of Greece hung on the walls. Nothing applying in it's decor.

The wait staff is very slow. They also can be a little rude at times. My favorite Lourdas story is once coming off the train I popped in to get an evening reservation. The man who let me in. (The were closed, but staff was inside) was so rude. He was amazed that anyone would come in when they were closed to ask for a reservation. He told me they do NOT take reservations from walk ins and I had to call. So I stepped outside and called from my cell phone 20 feet away and the same guy took my reservation over the phone! Other times when I have called they can be rude over the phone about taking a reservation.

The place is always busy. The food is slow to arrive and trying to flag down a waiter for a refill or to even order can be a task. They seem to like walk by and not look in your direction if your hand is raised or you try to catch their eye.

The food is okay and can be hit or miss. The last time I had lamb and it was very greasy as were my potatoes. I am convinced that if this was in Center City the place would be empty (too many other, better choices). But this is Bryn Mawr and their are not a lot of choices out here for good dining!

Be warned - they do NOT take credit cards (cash only) and it's BYOB (bring your own wine). Also it's very pricey for what you get.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have had the opportunity to eat both lunch and dinner at Lourdas many times. their food and service are always consistently good. It is a BYOB -- their wine glasses are perfect for any type of wine. The food is traditionally Greek. It is cash only so be sure you take some money-- it will not break the bank though!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelpatPhilaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lourdas Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Lourdas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing