We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese Steaks”

The Original Thunderbird Steak House
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Broomall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: Thunderbird is family owned and operated since 1956. We serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a friendly environment with a hometown feel. Known for our cheese steaks, said to be the best around. Plenty of other good food options from salad to stromboli. If your passing through town stop in. We have summer hours so please call ahead. Thank you.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheese Steaks”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Friendly people who make great cheese steaks. This year we called our order in ahead of time and it was ready for us upon arrival. The Thunderbird gets very busy, especially at lunch time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AprilinParis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Meatball pizza is great!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Great neighborhood place. Always friendly and the pizza is great. We love all of the old photos of Broomall on the walls.

Helpful?
Thank Monypenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still The Best”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We attended a family reunion that included 2 visits to Thunderbird. Friday I had my perfect cheesesteak with fried onions and cherry peppers and wife had an Italian Hoagie. Perfect! Our 2nd visit was to get hoagies for our flight home. Thunderbird put the olive oil in the side and isolated the veggies and meat from the bread using wax paper. Then they double wrapped in plastic wrap and paper. We refrigerated over night and on the flight 12 hours later they were perfect. Clearly Thunderbird has done this before. The best cheesesteak in DELCO - without a doubt. In Southeastern PA - better than Pat's or Gino's and less expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“T Bird”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I am disappointed with "The Bird" overall.

I grew up here and that was the place to go. Now it is Alfredo's up in the row of stores near Swiss Farms

Servings here are poor and price is still up there. Awfully small inside for mopre than 2 people at a table
Shakes ares good though

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOMALL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Milkshakes ...out of this world!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

There is no better place to go than right on the Pike in Broomall, for the best milkshakes and cheesesteaks around. Memorabilia of this cute little town surrounds you. I grew up with this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SARGEBROOMALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Thunderbird Steak House also viewed

 
Newtown Square, PA
 

Been to The Original Thunderbird Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing