We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired look, dubious food but good service”
Review of Gold Eagle Inn

Gold Eagle Inn
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Brookville
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Tired look, dubious food but good service”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

When it comes to food there's not much available in Brookville it seems. After trying a place in the heart of the village -- where no one was around and the smell was terrible -- we settled for the Gold Eagle Inn near our motel.

Service was nice but the restaurant itself was tired in appearance and even more so in its menu. When was the last time you can remember a relish tray being put out, and with ingredients straight out of a can (or jar presumably)?

The real failure of the evening though was the main course. My wife and I both ordered the cod -- pan-fried with a a crumb crust the menu claimed -- but when it came out it was inedible: wet, mushy, spongy, and no crust. Clearly their efforts at thawing the fish failed but the lack of awareness of that failure was appalling. We sent it back and ordered fish and chips. Basic, but OK.

If our experiences are any indication, there is little to recommend dining at the Gold Eagle.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris-Cemeteries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, service and good food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This restaurant has much local color in this lovely town which is the gateway to Cooks Forest. It's a "hunter's dream" restaurant ... good food, friendly service ... slightly elegant (in a "woodsy way" - with old local photos on the wall and huge fireplace. Get off the interstate and try it (Exit 78 on I 80). They even have Gluten Free!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridatraveler34292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cersco
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and selection for a small town”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

A great place to eat with lots of varied specials. If your looking for a good nice meal that's not a chain this is the place. They also have a lot of unique specials.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rustyiron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the nicer places around”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very good food, great service, nice atmosphere. The Gold Eagle is one of the nicest restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've visited this restaurant occasionally over many years and have never been disappointed. It is some distance away or we would be more frequent guests! The atmosphere is rustic and yet rather elegant. Food is quite good, especially the steaks. Salads are generous and always crisp. We celebrated my mother's 80th birthday here with many friends and relatives and everyone was quite pleased. Try it, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmcicero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gold Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing