We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was amazing, food was average”
Review of Golden Eagle diner

Golden Eagle diner
Ranked #21 of 44 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: old fashioned 24 hour diner with huge selection of cheap medium quality food with NO trendy upgrades, a real retro experience/local color
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service was amazing, food was average”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had two meals there, dinner one night and breakfast 2 days later. The dinner menu is insanely huge, there must be at least 200 items on it. So after reading it all, my wife and I both got chicken dishes. The chicken was very good, the sides were mediocre. The server was very pleasant and prompt. Price was reasonable.

Breakfast, the food was less great. The iced tea tasted like it was brewed in a coffee pot with coffee still in it. Pancakes and home fries were sub-par, eggs were fine. The server was great. Our toddler was becoming restless, she took him with her around the restaurant to keep him occupied while we ate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmDeeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central PA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor Food & Service”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The diner is clean and average looking but our service was ridiculously slow, we had to beg our male server several times for drink refills and my pancakes tasted horrible. How can you mess up pancakes?! Pancakes at McDonalds taste better! Would not recommend to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethm719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
“horrible”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Omg that place its so terrible we got the server Jo she acted like she was the owner of the restaurant she kept argueing with us took forever to bring out our food because she was talking and talking. the manager martine or whatever his name is he kept fighting with other customers he was really nasty. i heard him argueing with a customer beacuse he charged him 2.50 for a apple. thats crazy. he needs to go and so does jo ill never go back there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING: NOT JUST ANOTHER DINER!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My Dad has spent his entire life eating in diners. As a result, i have eaten in hundreds of diners across the country. My Mother grew up in Bristol Pa and, during a recent family visit, wanted to eat at the Golden Eagle Diner. I was expecting an ordinary diner, but I was in for a huge surprise. As soon as you enter, there is a bakery with a selection of gourmet baked goods that would rival that would rival that of any bakery in the country. The restaurant itself is beautiful with beautiful furniture and lighting and a shiny brass ceiling. The service was excellent, the food was outstanding and the menu choices included many old time comfort foods that you don't find everywhere like chicken croquettes, vegetable lasagna and club cracker chicken. The servings were huge and the prices were extremely reasonable. (The vegetable lasagna with soup and tossed, Greek or Caesar salad was $8.95!) They even start out your meal with a sweet cheese filled and a cinnamon filled roll similar to a nut roll. This has been one of my Mom's favorite restaurants for years and will be a favorite of mine for years to come. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PghZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a basic diner”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

reasonable prices, good basic food...hours I believe are 24....so a good place to have breakfast after a night out with friends...or brunch the next day

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Eagle diner also viewed

Bristol, Bucks County
Bristol, Bucks County
 
Bristol, Bucks County
Bristol, Bucks County
 

Been to Golden Eagle diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing