We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected treat outside of the city”
Review of King George II Inn

King George II Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The King George II Inn established in 1681 is on the National Historic Registry as one of the oldest continuously operated Inns. We serve lunch and dinner 7 days a week with a view of the Delaware River from 2 of our 5 dining rooms. Join us!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat outside of the city”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I prefer to dine in town where the selections are plenty and the food is exceptional. On this occasion, however, we were in the suburbs and decided to give this inn a try. The food was better than I thought it would be with a few unexpected menu options, like wahoo with coconut rice and pineapple. It was quite tasty. They also had a fresh oyster selection of the day.
Most of the clientele was up in years, with the majority of them dining prior to their show times at the Bristol River Theater. For that reason, the staff is programed to bring the food out rather quickly. The diner-like speed matched the consistency of the lobster bisque, which was extremely thick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place to eat...don't be scared of Bristol!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Took a group of teachers earlier in the month. Its our annual lunch and they always request the King George Inn. I was able to order all of our dishes (7 of us) on the phone and everything was perfect when we arrived (we were pressed for time). The food, service and decor were great. I'm very happy they are open again! Order the crap dip for an app...unbelievable....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had dinner there last night.
Nice view of the Delaware River from the enclosed dining room.
(Have outside patio as well, but it is near loud kitchen exhaust fan)
Food was pretty good and you get decent size portions.
Pleasant wait staff and the manager checks in with the guests.
Overall an enjoyable dinner. (can't beat the Monday $5 burger selection)
One comment - expand the background music selection. Love Frankie, but the loop
repeated while we were there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodriveslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It has been awhile since we were here, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Looking forward to going back

Helpful?
1 Thank SherryH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good food, atmosphere, and service. The King George is BACK!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The original owner took the place back over back in 2011/2012 and has re-aligned the menu and offerings to what the market and area needs. One can can come here and have really good tavern food or ... do fine dining - whatever you like.

Chef Kevin and his crew are doing an excellent job of creating very high quality dishes. Prices for some of the fine dining menu might be a touch high, but much of the menu is very accessible and a good value for the quality and quantity that you get for this setting.

Things of particular note include their soups, salads, steak sandwich, calamari, fish n' chips (VERY good), and specials - like beef ribs or brisket.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jefferson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King George II Inn also viewed

 
Bristol, Bucks County
Yardley, Bucks County
 

Been to King George II Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing