We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Breezewood
tjkg
1 review
“Needs some work”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

First, the room was spotless. I have to give an A+ for cleanliness. Beyond that, however, I would have a problem recommending this place. The bed was horrible and the TV was pathetic. Only about 10 channels were available and not all of those came in clearly. For those channels that you could view, the picture was tinted heavily in green. At one point an error message came across the screen saying, "to continue viewing, pay now." This was for a standard network channel. When I called the front desk to inquire about this, the attendant said, "oh yeah, that will disappear in a few minutes," which it did. But clearly there is a problem that requires attention. Now normally I would not make a big deal about the TV, but frankly, in Breezewood there isn't much else to do besides try to watch a little TV to kill time and get as good a night's sleep as possible.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tjkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    70
    29
    29
See reviews for
92
55
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2009

Stopped in for just one night while passing through and was completely satisfied with everything. Price was a little more than what we like to pay, but that is probably due to the location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrvacationpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Following a search online--& checking prices/availability at several sites--my husband & I located & booked a room--double bed; no smoking--at the Best Western Plaza Inn (on Lincoln Highway in Breezewood, PA). In retrospect, we were quite fortunate, i.e., apparently we got one of the last rooms, due to the short notice. Anyway, the entire experience was a highly positive one, from check-in to departure--& at a very reasonable cost! The location was great; desk clerk was professional, efficient & friendly; and the room was nicely furnished, including with a small fridge. Plus, the room was immaculate, & incredibly fresh-smelling, as well, which we noticed immediately upon entering the room! (Since I'm allergic to dust & sensitive to smoke, I always appreciate a really clean, smoke-free room!) The shower had excellent pressure, a variety of settings & was very relaxing after a long day on the road. The bed was quite comfortable & the room--amazingly quiet! Some nice amenities were provided, such as coffeemaker; hairdryer, etc. Coupons for complimentary breakfast at the Hardee's next door were provided, which we enjoyed, i.e., egg/ham/cheese croissant sandwiches & coffee. (A coupon for a 10% discount on any meal at the Family House Restaurant located next door on the other side of the Inn was also provided.) There were just a few minor issues. For instance, only two complete sets of towels were furnished, i.e., one hand towel, bath towel & washcloth per person. (We always appreciate having a couple extra hand towels/washcloths available.) One of the lamps had a switch which wasn't working properly--plus the sugar/creamer pack provided with our coffee had already been opened & was missing some of the contents. Finally, FYI--the number of TV stations one is able to view is pretty minimal, probably due to the fact that the Inn has chosen to have "basic" cable service. Overall, we were very pleased with the Inn and would definitely stay there again sometime!

  • Liked — How clean, quiet & generally well-maintained the room was.
  • Disliked — That we didn't have time to use the pool!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Babybmr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The Best Western in Breezewood is a really quirky, neat hotel. For some reason, I enjoy staying there even though it has nothing special to offer. Just a real basic road hotel in a town that is nothing more than a giant rest stop.

That said, the BW has a 50's feel to it. Set up in a two story semi circle around the large pool, all the rooms facing it, and each has a couple of pool chairs in front. Great for sitting outside and chilling out after a long day on the road. The rooms are generally clean and comfortable. But, they have window units A/C's, and on hot days can be lacking a bit. The local cable tv, actually sat tv, is famous for going out and for offering the bare minimum of channels.

Given that, the place still has a neat feel to it. Most guests are passing through, and the overall feel is, especially in the summer, of a big rest stop. You'll get an extra chance to meet people as most are sitting outside their rooms, visiting. Great for families with kids, as parents can supervise them in the pool while sitting in the chairs, etc.

Overall, I've stayed here several times and have no complaints. Nice place, great pool and fair to above service. Right next to many places to eat. The well known Family Restaurant & Steakhouse sits right next door, and the hotel gives discount coupons for it. Good place to eat, the last real non-franchise joint in town.

I'd recommend the BW anytime. Best for families.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A/C, tv service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sardu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Check in and check out were friendly and efficient. I arrived late, and the clerk rang my room to make sure I got there OK--a nice thing for her to do. The room was clean, but had a heavy perfume odor from a cleaning product--not good for allergies. My 6:15 wake up call came at 6:30. Breakfast was a coupon good for a few of Hardees greasier offerings. I would probably try one of the other hotels in Breezewood next time, or try the Best Western in Bedford.

  • Liked — Check in clerk was very helpful
  • Disliked — Breakfast at Hardees
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passinthroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2005

my wife and i had been staying here for over 10 years. while its a stopover point on long trips for most, we found it to be a nice area for a long weekend. its within a 2 hour drive of many attractions and cities. we always loved the large pool( all to ourselves many afternoons) and the clean but basic older rooms. along came a new non-american owner whose standards of cleanliness are much lower. we noticed a gradual decline in the cleanliness the last couple of years. this past june was the last straw upon check-in friday night we were greeted by bugs all over the walls(not flies that came in when we did) and bed linens that were either inhabited by bed bugs or some detergent that was giving us a rash needless to say we were out of there,until a torrential rainstorm blew in, sowe had to wait it out. its true what they say about satellite tv affected by weather .all the channels went out. the owner was clever to include a note with your key card-"no refunds after 30 minutes or if the room is used. gee--how do you know the room is bad without using something? he apparently had numerous complaints so this was his way of getting out of refunds. so we drove back home. didn't even waste time complaining- just said we had an emergency and had to leave. the owner was there and i didn't even want to get into it with him. its sad to see a nice place with some nice employees go to pot like this

Helpful?
7 Thank jmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Breezewood hotels

Sebewaing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2004

We stayed at the Best Western in Breezewood, PA on our way to DC in May 2004. The facility was immaculate, cont. breakfast was in the lobby, and you could walk to Sheetz. We paid $77 (incl. taxes) for our room. The only negative thing I could say is that the on-ramp for the interstate is across the street, so if the sound of trucks accelerating to go up the hill (all night) would keep you awake, you might want to head down the road a little farther. It didn't bother me at all, and the view in the morning was spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tk4books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breezewood
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
Quality Inn Breeze Manor
#2 of 8 in Breezewood
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Breezewood
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
680 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
14.9 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Inn

Property: Best Western Plaza Inn
Address: 16407 Lincoln Hwy, Breezewood, PA 15533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Breezewood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Breezewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Breezewood
Breezewood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing