We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bradford
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We ended up at this hotel on a Saturday night because the two hotels in the town which were more highly rated were both booked. We were a little nervous when we arrived because the location leaves a bit to be desired (you turn down what looks like a dirt road and there are old buildings being demolished directly across from the hotel) and we were initially 'greeted' by a group of smokers outside the front door. .But then you get inside and everything is new (7 weeks old when we stayed there) and clean. The rooms were spacious, there was a refrigerator for our use in the room, and the indoor pool was really nice. It did cost a little more than the other hotels in the area and I have no basis to compare to know if it is worth the difference. We found all the employees to be competent, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritacindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
36
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, MD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is new but seems like it opened prematurely (driveway and parking area not finished; desk clerk unable to initially locate reservation; keys didn't work on first try, etc) - basic accomodations but clean. Pet peeve of mine is having to walk into my hotel through a wall of people smoking in the front - and these were hotel employees. No one in my travel party could connect to the hotel's 'free' wireless even after stopping at the front desk several times to confirm code - the manager's response was 'no one else is complaining'.

The hotel is very close (10-20 feet) from working train tracks and there is also a good deal of highway noise from Rt 219 just beyond the tracks. Was looking forward to a new hotel option in Bradford due to frequent trips to the area but I won't be back to this one due to poor location and management.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frequent_Traveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed on Sat 7th of July and I can't believe "tlc232" that we stayed in the same hotel on the same period. We booked the F&F rate and did not have any problem at check-in nor at check-out.
The hotel is perfectly located on our way from Washington DC to the Niagara falls. Rooms are huge, spotless, beds are comfy. The AC worked fine in both rooms
+ The railway & highway US-219 are situated right next to our rooms and did not have any problem. It seems that trains are not running at night / early morning.
+ Complimentary hot breakfast including bacon, hamburger & pancakes is more than decent. It's a good start to continue our route to NF. Here again, did "tlc232" expect a 4-stars breakfast ? We had breakfast in our trip at the Hilton NF (4 stars) & Courtyard Toronto (3 stars) rated at respectively at 20$ and 15$ and they are not far better. Customers should forget that breakfast is free at the HI-Exp.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ntt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We found ourselves traveling through Bradford, PA on a Sunday evening in July, and, using a third party booking company, secured one of the few rooms left next to the busy highway (US 219).

In summary, a very decent value for the money. Easy check-in, neat and clean room, noon checkout, free breakfast (including bacon and eggs!), and coffee all morning. Yes, it's located in a gentrified part of town, but my Garmin did in fact find the Arbys next door, so all's well that ends well.

The king size bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was stocked with all the essentials, and the air conditioning (during a July heat wave) worked outstanding. No complaints at all. And the front desk staff was most helpful and accommodating.

The only ding was the "early" breakfast, from 5:30 AM to 9:30 AM. For those of us who like to sleep a bit late (noon was checkout time) AND eat breakfast, this forced some hard choices. But other than that, I would rate this as a great place to spend a night - or three.

Room Tip: Be nice to the desk clerk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Love the hotel. Great color scheme. Yes the railroad tracks are close but there are no trains that come through there. Access is easy right off 219. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would definatly stay there again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doolie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Yes -- it's new in Bradford...but here's what you need to know if you are reading this for a glimpse of what you'll get. This is "bare bones" new -- the road isn't in to the property; it is austere (no restaurant; embarrassingly cheap breakfast left out -- minimal). The railroad tracks are 4 feet off of the back of the hotel and 219 (major hwy) is 8 feet (not exaggerating - just beyond the railroad). The staff is the worst I've dealt with anywhere. No small town charm here -- and no customer service-oriented training at all. When you run the AC unit in the room (at least in room 331) the floor and the bed vibrates with it. (We had multiple travelers in separate rooms). The bright red, widely patterned carpet in the room is anything but soothing.

Made reservation online -- Govt traveler. The long and short of it is they took my online "2 room suite" reservation and changed it to an Advanced Purchase rate agreement when they got it (it isn't even an option for a Govt traveler rate, but by some act of God they said I chose it). Not knowing why I got charged $410 the next day (the rate I had booked was $145.67 a night, so it didn't add), I called and was told that because "they weren't supposed to give Govt travelers that room as an option (it's still on there), that they had moved my reservation to a cheaper rate that happened to be Advanced Purchase. How nice of them. So they billed me for the change they made on my behalf (and to this day, the only person who will admit it is one of the front desk staff...). After finally agreeing to credit me back (3 days), they charged me again for the same amount (another $410 to my checking -- no reason this time), and finally after much headache and hassle, I got a credit 10 (yes ten) days later. They didn't even tell me they made the mistake of two "debits" the second time because "they knew I would not be happy". And what did I get for all of the headache?....the opportunity to go back to my old standbys in the future. This property will never measure up to the brand name, and it's a shame because a new hotel in this area would have been nice if they had hired qualified people to run/own the franchise.

The Comfort Inn and Best Western aren't "new" in this area --- but they are seasoned, reliable, and very comfortable for people who travel through this area a lot and what professional service and much less noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot (less train/highway noise) and not on the 2nd floor above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tlc232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a beautiful new property everything nice and spotless. Right off 219. Only problem was its so new TomTom couldn't find it. Do a Arby's search its almost next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bradford Inn
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
14.4 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
12.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
Address: 30 Tarport Drive Extension, Bradford, PA 16701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Bradford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing