We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B and hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mountain Laurel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bradford B&B and Inns
Boisbriand, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B and hosts”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We where travaling from Virginia Beach to Ontario Canada and found this beautiful B&B in Bradford, Pa. Great place with Carolyn and Bob who where very friendly.

I highly recommend this B&B for travelers who pass close by.

Jean-Marc & Diane from Québec, Canada.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerplywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

The good: Spacious rooms, accomodating inn keepers, nice breakfast and wine hour in the early evening.

The bad: The road the Inn is on is very loud at most hours of the night with cars screeching by and the street cleaner there to wake you in the morning. The owner seems militant about getting your order for the breakfast so write it down immediately or he'll hover over you till it's done. It smells like smoke but it's unclear who's doing the smoking. Last and most importantly, he yells and belittles his wife LOUDLY and in front of guests, making the stay excruciating and unbearable. They fight and bicker and hate their jobs. If you can stay someplace else, I really would. Plus, the Christmas decor is still up.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lucy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIinnkeeper, Owner at The Mountain Laurel Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
We have let this review stand without comment for way too long. We were surprised at the guest's good comments being followed by so many bad ones. We'll take our guest's bad comments in order:

We are located in a town of about 9,000 and are on the corner of 2 residential streets. Traffic can sometimes be a bit heavy in the mornings and evenings, but usually drops off and quiets down after sundown. Unfortunately, Tuesday, AM is street sweeping time during the warmer months, so you may hear them if you are with us over that evening. However, if your room's A/C is on overnight, none of this applies.

We use a menu for our guests' breakfast choices. We offer several entrees each morning along with choices for juices, breads, beverages, etc., and time. We usually fill out our guests menus with them when they check in so we can better serve them in the morning. The overwhelming majority of our guests are pleased to have these choices and with our attention to their desires. We have never court-martialed or shot a single guest over menu issues.

The Inn's interior is smoke free. There is only one smoking area, outside on the front porch. If the front door is open and someone is smoking, you may get a wiff smoke in the front hall, but never in the rooms.

WE DO NOT ARGUE IN FRON OF GUESTS, EVER! Our guest's comment is not true.

WE DO NOT HATE OUR JOBS! Our guest's comment here is also untrue.

All our Christmas decorations come down by mid-January. Our guest must have confused some of our year-round florals with Holiday decorations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Just got back from the Mountain Laurel Inn in Bradford, PA. My wife and I spent Saturday and Sunday nights for Valentine's Day Weekend. The owners Bob and Carolyn and very friendly and accommodating. They made us a good breakfast each moring and had a evening veggie/snack tray on our second day. They bought a gift certificate for a local restaurant for our first evenings' dinner. The rooms are nice and decorated. The beds are very comfy and soft. We had everything we needed and had a great time. The place is also close to the Seneca Casino in nearby NY and also close to other attractions. We went snow tubiing in Holiday Valley, NY. I would reccommend staying here for couples but not families.

  • Liked — comfortable bed and friendly owners
  • Disliked — little cool at night during our winter stay
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

But that didnt mean he needed to take out his bad day on me. The owners are incredibly tactless, unkind, and unaccomadating..... to the point where they obviously don't care if a customer ever comes back or not, they seem to get enough business from first-time customers that they don't care...so here's a warning to all their first-time customers:
unless you want to stay somewhere that smells like smoke, has poor internet, no parking, and have to put up with owners who hate the world, hate you, and think everything is stupid, then I would advise staying elsewhere.

  • Liked — Quiet and soft bedding
  • Disliked — Odors, unkind owners, no parking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dangergoodinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIinnkeeper, Resident Innkeepers and Qwners at The Mountain Laurel Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
WOW, this appears to be a totally erroneous review! The only solo business guests we accommodated in January, 2009, are long time repeat guests, good business friends, actually. We hosted no new/first time guests!

If this reviewer actually had this bad experience, it was not at our inn.

Please check out the other reviews to verify the high ratings other bonafide guests have given The Mountain Laurel Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

The Mountain Laurel Inn is a gem of a B&B. The rooms are huge, the owners very accomodating, and the breakfasts are excellent. Internet (wireless) access is spotty. It depends in part on the location of your room and the computer that you use. Our new HP laptop worked well throughout the property, while our 4 year old Toshiba worked only in certain locations.

You need to know that the Inn is located on a busy street and you may find the street noises bothersome. However, in Bradford, the traffic disappears by 10 p.m. That is probably one of the negatives of this B&B....it is located in Bradford, Pa. If you don't have a specific reason to be in Bradford (work or family), there isn't any reason to visit Bradford. You can walk to town and a couple of local restaurants. If you must be in Bradford, we highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank EthelSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLIinnkeeper, Owner at The Mountain Laurel Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
We have let this review stand for far too long without comment, mostly because it is so ambavilant. The good and bad comments are mixed together so closely that it is hard to separate them. But here goes:

Our guests have called our wireless internet access "spotty" while saying one of their laptops worked fine throughout the house, but their other one didn't. Guess it did not occur to them that the problem was with their computer, not our internet servive.

Their worst comments, however, were not about the Inn, but about our town. Rather than taking the space here to enumerate all the reasons to visit Bradford, we invite anyone reading this response to go to the "Attractions" page on our website. You will find that there are numerous reasons to visit Bradford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
11.6 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
44 reviews
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountain Laurel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Laurel Inn

Property: The Mountain Laurel Inn
Address: 136 Jackson Ave, Bradford, PA 16701-1310
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Bradford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1984 as a single family home, the Mountain Laurel Inn was restored, renovated and opened as a B&B in 1996. We offer 7 beautiful guest rooms, each with private bath, TV, A/C, clock radio and more. A full breakfast with choice of entrees is offered each morning. For more details, visit our website. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing