We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to satisfy your appetite at a reasonable cost”

Bowers Hotel Incorporated
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bowers
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Suburban Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A good place to satisfy your appetite at a reasonable cost”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We went here on a busy Friday night when the place was packed. We had had a substantial lunch, so we didn't want anything too heavy for dinner. My wife had a Caesar salad and pan-fried scallops; I had a Caesar salad and shrimp scampi. We agreed that both entrees were very good, and the Caesar salad was, well, a Caesar salad. Actually, the highlight of the meal was the wonderful homemade bread pudding, which our server Bonnie admitted to making. She claimed it was her first try at it; my comment was "Don't change a thing." A house Blues band started to play at 8 pm, and the noise quickly escalated. The prices here are quite reasonable, and the food is good, so what's not to like? Service was a bit slow, but one of the servers volunteered that they were short-handed that night. All in all, a place we would return to if we lived in this area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“We were hoping for the old experiences”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We recently visited the Bowers Hotel, to say we were disappointed is an understatement. The food was not cooked to our expectations, burger was overdone, fries were over fried; onions were undercooked, etc.
FWIW; if you can't make a decent burger and fries; what expectations should one have for something else on the menu.
In addition, I can never understand why a server asks if your meal is ok, 30 seconds after it is delivered and never returns to the table except to clear the empty dishes.
Maybe we expected the same quality of food and service from the previous times we visited under different ownership.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Merrymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SO GLAD THIS PLACE REOPENED”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I've been to Bowers a few times since it reopened and I have been happy everytime. The chicken parmesan is the best the pancetta is a great touch, I've also had a few different types of panini's and such always delicious. Desert's have always been tasty and they have a great beer selection. Tom the bartender is also very entertaining and provides excellent service. I only wish the bar counter was a bit higher or the bar stools a bit shorter....it's kinda awkward when you want to eat at the bar and the stools are so high vs the lower bar height but there are tables in the bar area you can eat at. I also like how they have different themed food nights. Kudos to the owners they're doing a great job.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, Cozy, Historic Inn With Fantastic Food, Service and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you are out and about near Bowers and eat anywhere besides the Bowers Hotel, you are wasting your time. Since the new owners bought it, this is now, once again, our favorite place to go. We've eaten here several times in the past few months, most recently, yesterday. They have a nice menu of entrees and lighter fare, and we have never been disappointed with a meal. Service is fast and friendly - even when it's very crowded. The atmosphere is lovely - a quiet, country inn tucked away in a sweet little village. The building inside and out is just gorgeous. Love to see another historic country inn preserved and doing well! Lots of parking, too.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wondertul Food in the Country”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I took my parents there for lunch today and my mother had gotten a recommendation for the wings from a friend. We ordered the garlic/parmasian and they were wonderful. We all ordered the roast beef sandwich on ciabatta bread and of course horseradish on the side. The french fries were light and not a bit greasy. My parents and I enjoyed every bite and will be back another time, maybe for dinner. Good selection of beers on draft and bottles and wines from two local wineries.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLStoudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowers Hotel Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Bowers Hotel Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing