We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unobstrusive warmth and charm & close to Penn State”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boalsburg B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“unobstrusive warmth and charm & close to Penn State”
Reviewed December 25, 2008

Thanks to Tripadvisors I selected this charming B & B for a short stay for my cousin's December graduation. My partner isn't a B & B person, but even she enjoyed our stay because the innkeepers were friendly without being obtrusive, the common rooms were relaxing (music, internet connection, fireplace, fresh coffee 24 hrs a day), and once we were in our room, we rarely heard the other guests.

Breakfasts are FANTASTIC. Several cute shops are just steps away for browsing, and a local winery is minutes away. Penn State is a short 10 minute drive away - can either use the bypass to get to the basketball stadium (where the graduation ceremony was held) or take the business route into town and cruise College Avenue.

  • Liked — comfy bed, charming town and innkeepers
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay a third night; would be too many stairs for someone who has difficulty climbing stairs
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rfbcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Although I'm not normally compelled to write reviews, I want to express my gratitude for a wonderful stay at the Springfield House in Boalsburg, PA. We had the pleasure of meeting one of the innskeepers- Bill. He was warm without being intrusive and if you've ever had reservations about staying at a Bed & Breakfast, give this place a try. Wonderful old world accomodations (complete with new world technology). The rooms are large and extremely well-kept. Bill served a delicious made to order breakfast in the morning. My only complaint is that we only stayed one night. We're already looking forward to our next trip there!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jbscanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed for two nights at Springfield Inn during the PSU Arts Festival. The inn was very comfortable and Bill the innkeeper was so personable. We were very much left alone to enjoy our stay, but we knew where to find Bill if there was anything we needed.

The entire house was very clean and well decorated. The porch is delightful and the backyard is a relaxing place to spend some time.! Within walking distance of good restaurants.

We don't always like B&B's but we felt completely at home and comfortable at Springfield House.

  • Liked — Large, comfortable room; afternoon refreshments.
  • Disliked — No regular coffee in the early morning - rectified the next day.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillinWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Just returned from a stay at The Springfield House In historic Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA. Each year we three couples get away for a short weekend during March (our own March Madness). We try to find smaller interesting places to visit ... we limit our visits to a Saturday overnight. This year was once again our turn to choose the locale to visit. We picked up a flyer for Boalsburg during a weekend stay at a Penn State University football game last fall and were fascinated that so much history could be so close. The Springfield House has been lovingly restored with all the modern conveniences one could want while maintaining the aura of the 1800s. The hospitality was superb, the accommodations more than spotless with warm and inviting guest rooms (some with gas fireplaces) and public rooms where we were able to gather to enjoy some complimentary local wine and chocolates and great conversation. The Springfield House is within walking distance (literally across the street) of Duffy's Tavern (a 17th century wonder) and several other lovely shops as well as a charming museum. The Springfield House is also a short drive to State College. The innkeepers serve a wonderful made-to-order breakfast. Did I mention there is a chocolate factory store and a wine store on the property? All in all, a wonderful anytime getaway.

Helpful?
1 Thank ALittleMarchMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, PA
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Staying at this charming Victorian home was like taking a step back in time. From enjoying a complimentary glass of wine on the beautiful gingerbread-trimmed veranda to a sumptuous cooked-to-order breakfast in the beautful dining room, ours was a stay to remember. Located in a Victorian village off the beaten path, but within minutes of the Penn State campus, this lovely, completely restored home has all of the charm of old, but all of the comforts of today. Our hosts were warm, friendly, and couldn't have been more accommodating. Our room was comfortable, spacious, and had lots of little "extras", which were unexpected and delightful. My only hope is that I have an opportunity to visit again soon.

  • Liked — The atmosphere of the home and the town
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

My wife an I had a marvelous weekend in State College - visiting our daughter - made all the more enjoyable by our stay at the Springfield House. Everything about this B&B surpassed our expectations, from the warm greeting and friendly breakfasts to the beautiful room and well-appointed bath.
We are already planning return visits for graduations, football games and other family visits.
Just a short drive from State College, you could not find a nicer place to stay in Happy Valley!

  • Liked — Overal ambiance
  • Disliked — There were no negatives...
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nlbergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, PA
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this lovely B&B (which I found thanks to TripAdvisor). Cheryl and Bill were wonderful hosts, sincerely interested in making us as welcome and comfortable as possible. The accommodations were very nice - clean, upscale, plush, comfortable and quiet. They really pay attention to the details.

Our schedule did not permit time for breakfast; Bill seemed disappointed and I've no doubt we would have enjoyed it. Also, the town of Boalsburg is beautiful, and PSU / State College is only 5 minutes up the road.

We are already planning our next visit to Springfield House and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cushionpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boalsburg
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
535 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
770 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#21 of 26 in State College
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Springfield House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 126 E Main St, Boalsburg, PA 16827-1421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Boalsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boalsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springfield House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Springfield House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing