We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is really two stars at best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bell
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is really two stars at best!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the West Gate House suites and found it lacking services. The ice was in the main building and there was no room service for it. Breakfast on the weekend limited to continental on Saturday or a huge expensive brunch on Sunday. We were there for a private party and the food was at best average. Housekeeping did not even show up until we complained and then forgot to leave coffee, cups and TP. For the $200+ price tag the room was lacking an otoman which they did provide when we called and complained. Cups were paper and the TV channels were not the same on the two televisions. No heat in the bathroom other than a heat lamp. No porter although the manager assisted us when asked for help.
We have never found a top hotel in the area and had high hopes for this one . We did have expensive burgers and drinks in the bar one evening that weren't too bad.

Room Tip: Be sure to check Price Line, they were $84 the weekend we were there for the standard rooms. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue507231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us. We apologize that you were not aware of the amenities in which we provide our guests, including room service and bellman assistance. We will work harder to ensure that each of our guests is reminded of this upon check in, along with the welcome letter in each guest room. We understand that everything you requested was brought to you in a timely and efficient manner, and should you like to discuss these challenges further, please reach out to a member of our management team, as it is our pleasure to assist. In regards to the housekeeping challenge with missing amenities, we understand that our housekeeping team was not at your room as early as you had requested, which I understand was approximately 9am, therefore when you entered back into your room later that morning they had none been in yet to service your room. Our apologies. In regards to the glassware, we do offer our guests, standard in all rooms, paper 16 oz paper cups as part of our Living Green initiative, but we were more than happy to bring you the glassware you resquested. Please contact us to discuss further as we strive for a great guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    85
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
72
36
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights for a medium size meeting (40 - 50 people). Meeting rooms were good and service was good. Food quality for team meals and snacks was a cut below. The food quality in their restaurant was much better, so someone on a personal trip would fare better than we did in our banquet style meals. My sleeping room was nice and met my expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Gad38,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that you feel the food during your meeting was only satisfactory. While we strive to meet all of our guests expectations, during meetings, we prepare the items selected by your meeting planner. Dining in our restaurant is a fabulous experience in our award winning restaurant. We hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future and if there is anything we can do, please do not hesitate to reach out to us as it is our pleasure to assist you. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well maintained historic property. Interesting history. Great artwork. Food was good. I stayed in one of suites across the parking lot from main building. Room was very nice - bed extra comfy. I didn't like that I had to run across a large parking lot in the rain 2 mornings in a row to get the meeting in the main building.
I'd like to return to this area to explore other sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. While we're sure you found the suites located in the gatehouse, superb accommodations, it is unfortunate that there was inclement weather during your visit. If there is anything that we can do for you in the future to be of service, please reach out to a member of our management team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel seems like it would be a wonderful place to stay. I was there for a meeting and was surprisingly pleased with the banquet food and the restaurant food. However, the service was appalling. The people in the restaurant were rude. The rooms were also just average. The temperature control units ran constantly because there was no thermostat. I expect more from the price I paid here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there was an issue with your room, we would have addressed it immediately, as we want all of our guests to be comfortable during their visit with us. I apologize for any service issues you had in the restaurant, as we consistently exceed service standards. Please contact a member of our management team to discuss your stay with us, as we want to ensure your satisfaction in high hopes that we can be of service to you in the future. We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel has so much going for it but fails at the small things so it's very hard to rate. We stayed there over Christmas to visit with family so it is convenient for us and the fare is heavily discounted that week around Christmas so it's a great value. At full price it would not be as good a value. First the good: The location is great and the facility is excellent and the staff is friendly and accomidating. If the breakfast buffet has hot meals (steam table scramble eggs, sausage and bacon , etc..) it's great. If it's the cold buffet it's a granola bar or cold cerial - forget the "fresh" fruit it's so green it's tasteless. The wifi was good but if you are on business the desk in the room is very minimal and rather inconvenient. When we stayed the restaurant and bar were barely staffed or not staffed. If you plan on the better restaurant make reservations to make sure it is going to be serving. When it is it's very busy but it's not always open. There isn't much in the immediate area so it is rather isolated but that's not bad if that's what you are looking for. We did not use the conference rooms so I cannot comment on this. If you have to pay fiull price there are other hotels around RT 309 that I would compare before booking. However other than breakfast the facility and service were fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi John0903,

We appreciate you taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We apologize for any challenges you faced with hours of service, and breakfast during your stay. We undertstand that you stayed with us over the holidays, and we're happy that you found us to be convenient. During the holidays when the area business module tends to be less busy, we operate our food and beverage based on a level that predicates this demand. If we ammend hours of operation, all guests are provided with detailed information regarding this matter upon check in with alternate options and recommendations, although we never cease food and beverage operations. We hope that you will come back to visit us as we value and appreciate your business. If there is anything we can do to be of service, please reach out to a member of our management team. It's our pleasure to be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here right after Thanksgiving.....Hotel looked amazing for the holidays....very nice staff...food at The Farmers Daughter was great.....rooms in the main building were a tad small....had other family who stayed in the cottages and loved their stay there...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disab3476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My first stay resulted in a positive, even glowing, report of this hotel. However, this second stay was pretty abysmal. This time I was in a room rather than a suite. The ventilation is terrible - the heater is just a fan heater by the window, imagine trying to control the room temperature with that and trying to sleep.

What really lets the hotel down is its staff. The front desk and other staff are very variable. Some ignore you, or are abrupt, whereas others are good. Certainly the Price isn't justified by the service.

I've heard the nearby Courtyard by Marriott is a better bet so will try that next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RU18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Bell
3.2 mi away
HYATT house Philadelphia/Plymouth Meeting
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ft. Washington - Philadelphia
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Philadelphia Montgomeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia/Ft. Washington
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Philadelphia West
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#5 of 6 in Plymouth Meeting
105 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Montgomeryville
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1401 Morris Road, Blue Bell, PA 19422
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Blue Bell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Bell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Normandy Farm Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Farm Hotel Blue Bell
Normandy Farm Hotel And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing