We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Food in a Nice Setting”
Review of El Sarape

El Sarape
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Blue Bell
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food in a Nice Setting”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate at El Serape several years ago and found the food a bit too hot. We returned this weekend and thought the food was pretty good; it wasn't too hot and was presented in an attractive manner by a pleasant and attentive waitress. There are not too many selections for vegetarians but the enchiladas were tasty and the portions were enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfiebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwynedd Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican, killer margaritas”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This is Blue Bell's best kept secret hidden in plain sight. El Sarape is on the corner of 202 and 73 and easy to miss because you wouldn't expect such a treat in that location. We've eaten there twice in the last three weeks and will continue to work our way through the creative and diverse menu. While small, El Sarape is big on flavor and service. Thoroughly enjoyed dinner and the Patron margaritas left us wobbly. Give this place a try - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude Hostess, Overpriced Menu”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been to El Sarape twice and both times have found the menu to be way overpriced for what mostly amounts to average to good food. Most entrees are in the $28-$35 range.

Most recently the hostess was very rude to our party upon leaving the restaurant. We won't be back. There are plenty of other great Mexican options in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstein_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I both thought our food was over-spiced and over-cooked. She ordered the chicken and beef fajitas thinking it would a safe choice and it was completely over-cooked. I ordered the Camarones Culiacan and you could barely taste the shrimp or bacon because of the intense spices. It just didn't appeal to our tastes and we will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanders41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven
2 reviews
“Mui Grande!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The service and food were simply outstanding! The portions were very generous, and the choice of foods and preparations were authentic. I felt like I was back in Mexico!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donpho9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sarape also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to El Sarape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing