We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a place to drink and grab some food”

The Broad Axe Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Broad Axe Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 53 Restaurants in Blue Bell
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt. 73 (Skippack Pike)
Description: Dating back to 1681, The Broad Axe Tavern is one of America's oldest taverns. Reopened in May of 2009 after undergone a multi-million dollar renovation. We welcome you to come in to see and enjoy this historic land mark. The pointed stone, hardwood and slate tiled floors give the restaurant its old world charm. Its leather booths, wood tables and iron fixtures also give it a casual elegance. The menu is a eclectic mix of small plates for grazing, grilled pizzas, large plates and tavern sandwiches. Guest favorites include Steamed Mussels, Seafood Chowder and Crab Cakes, NY Strip Steak and our Award-Winning BBQ Ribs. A great place to meet and greet with sixteen craft and imported beers on tap, over 175 bottled beers from around the world for your enjoyment. Or try a bottle of wine from our 21 Club, 38 Special list. We also have high end Premium wines or one of our great wines by the glass. Daily drink specials include happy hour 5-7pm.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent for a place to drink and grab some food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The atmosphere is nice, although it's a little loud with all the people there to drink, but there's quieter spots to eat.

It's definitely a step above bar food, but most of the items we ordered felt that the spices and flavors were off, like whoever made the recipe or the cook of the day just couldn't figure out the proper proportions of ingredients. Next time we'll try a more traditional dish, but I felt the prices were well for the service, food, and atmosphere. We'll be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    33
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my lunch”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Went here for lunch and the food was good. I think the lunch menu was a little pricey but not ridiculous. I would like to try and eat here for dinner. I think the broad axe is worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iluvsoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hardly Historic - Good Food Though”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This establishment does not live up to it’s website hype. If you are looking for a fine dining experience, this isn’t it. It is a “tavern” -- closer to a sports bar than a true representative of a traditional inn and restaurant. The food was excellent, though, and they have an impressive selection of wine, beer, ale and stout on-tap. Service had it’s ups and downs.

The website brags at length about the historic nature of the building, and mentions the fire that preceded renovation. Unfortunately, while a “nod” was given to history in the new interior, the furnishings and décor are more early 1960’s than early 1690’s. It gives the appearance of plain, sturdy, and cheap. The front entrance interior looks a lot like a diner with it’s glass and stainless steel display case and hostess station.

There are two small sections of tables not quite in the central bar, but they have only archways separating them and there are TVs in all areas so you don’t miss a sports minute. The room where we were seated was more “dark and dingy” than “dark and romantic.” It had been a porch, and was very cold in late November. There were two families with screaming babies near us. This is essentially a bar where you can bring your kids. The webpage says the dress code is “casual elegant,” but it turns out to be “what ever you’re wearing.”

We had several special food requests, since I am allergic to garlic, but after assuring me that I could have my mashed potatoes without garlic the waiter or the kitchen forgot them entirely. The menu didn’t mention the spinach which appeared on my plate – and I am allergic to that too. While they didn’t offer any dishes of a remotely historic nature, the food, including my filet, was delicious. Good food can overcome many shortcomings.

The waiter was very accommodating about our special order, but spoke extremely loud as though he was in a stadium. The overall noise level was high - but not that high. He also tended to disappear for unduly long intervals.

If we return, it won’t be for a special occasion, just for a casual dinner and booze. I’d recommend it to a friend looking for good food and drinks that they don’t have to dress-up for -- so long as they don’t mind noise, TVs and slow service. (There are occasions when I might be in the mood for that, too.)

Suggestions:

Do something historic – candles on the table in a lantern or even a chimney glass would contribute to the atmosphere, make it more romantic and easier to read the menu, too.

Seat guests at alternating tables as they come in. Putting two tables of diners next to each other when the rest of the room is empty detracts from the experience, and makes patrons feel like they are thrust together with strangers.

Leave more room for guests to walk by the band stand which stuck out into the aisle. (No band was playing the night we were there.)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cares4Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, ok food”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Broad Axe is a nice tavern - not great, not bad. The decor is nice and staff friendly. The food is ok -- nothing special. The bar is pretty good. We would eat here again but would go elsewhere for a special occasion

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KichwaTembo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Great tavern, excellent service”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We enjoyed several visits with no pressure to leave until done.
Good food delivered promptly.
Service top notch.
Seating locations sometimes poor

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jonensn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Broad Axe Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing