We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an experience”

Shady Maple Farm Market
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Blue Ball
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“an experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I guess you could say this is something you have to see. We used to shop there regularly and they often have great prices on local produce. That is all we really get there. But try not to go on weekends, it is crowded like crazy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbcreasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    27
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not a tourist destination, it's a grocery store, people!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've been shopping Shady Maple for the last 14 years since I moved to the area. Their produce selection is phenomenal, but not necessarily local. They've been trying to increase the amount of local produce they carry, but stuff is still coming from all over despite being grown just down the road. If you are interested in local produce, shop the roadside stands and ask if they grew it. SM's meat prices are very good and they smoke their own meats. Again, the meats aren't local - some is coming from as far away as South America - my kids learned that on their school fieldtrip to Shady Maple. The bakery selection is typical PA dutch -- don't expect delicate French pastries, but do look for whoopie pies, donuts, and lots of bread. Caution in the bulk section -- prices are sometimes higher than in the regular aisles, ie. dried peas/beans are cheaper by the pound bag in the Goya section than in bulk. Seafood section has a nice variety, but some has been pre-frozen and then thawed. Ask if it is important to you. Deli section is really where they are lacking. Having 10 varieties of American cheese doesn't make it a decent deli. If you don't carry Emmentaler, gruyere, and gouda then your cheese selection is pretty limited in my opinion. Not as good as Genaurdi's, but a very good grocery store!

Tourists, if you are there just to look, please remember that some of us live here and this is our weekly grocery store! We're just trying to get our shopping done. Please be courteous and don't block aisles!

Best time to shop: Mon-Thurs in the evenings. Tuesday during the day is when the local nursing homes bring their buses. Fridays and Saturdays so busy you are better off avoiding it and going to Yoder's in New Holland for your basic grocery needs.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lrgacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“CleanExcellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Clean
Friendly
Ample parking
They have fresh everything
A majority of items are from the local farmers

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Supermarket for Fans of Grocery Shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

It looks like a normal grocery store, but it is so much more. The value and selection here is amazing. We cooked a gourmet meal with filet mignon, locally grown mushrooms, and vegetables we had never seen before, all for a pittance! If you're looking to round out your farmer's market purchases, this is the place to come for sure!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taylor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Price Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a tourist eatery. The food is okay though there's many choices of all food it's price rather high.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dml512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Maple Farm Market also viewed

Intercourse, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
New Holland, Lancaster County
 

Been to Shady Maple Farm Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing