We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kim”

Shady Maple Farm Market
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Blue Ball
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kim”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Shady Maple Complex is AWESOME!!!!!! The Smorgasbord beats ANY of the others hands down! Their baked goods are fabulous. The market is phenominal with the produce and meats/smoked meats. We took a huge cooler with us this year and filled the thing full. Don't do anything else until you first go to Shady Maple. The others unfortunately pale in comparison.....take our word for it...we tried them all and won't go anywhere now but Shady Maple!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    31
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I do all of my grocery shopping here”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

You can't beat the prices on their meats, produce and sandwich meat. They have an amazing selection of everything! They have a beautiful bakery section and great cakes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dpsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
560 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“a large amount of items to buy”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This food store in front of the famous smorgasbord restaurant offers a large variety of food stuff and other typical supermarket items. They have lots of bulk items. They have a great spice section, a great candy and nuts area, as well as loose tea and cereal areas. The fresh produce section is large and contains lots of local grown items and if you know anything of the region, you know that means lots of great items because of the rich farmland surrounding the area. They have bargains, but you better know your prices because not everything is a bargain. Some items are higher priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“This place is HUGE.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went here to kill some time before going to go the Buffet next door. This place is huge. Lots of local goods for sale and normal groceries. Prices for the local goods were very reasonable. Bought some baked goods and they were delicious. We have been to the area before and had never stopped here. We are glad we did and we will go back when in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“health hazard”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

health dept has a long list of violations- can't believe they are still open. You would think that the market would have to shut down with all of the violations, but I guess when you are the largest business (they own the whole complex there) you can get away with that type of stuff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank vondalecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Maple Farm Market also viewed

New Holland, Lancaster County
Intercourse, Lancaster County
 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
 

Been to Shady Maple Farm Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing