We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hometown Feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bloomsburg Diner

Bloomsburg Diner
Ranked #11 of 90 Restaurants in Bloomsburg
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hometown Feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We frequently have brunch at the Bloomsburg Diner. Jess and the girls make you feel like part of the family. The food is standard diner fare, served just the way you like it, and the prices are low. The best part, I think, is the feeling of community in the restaurant, and I know the owners work very hard to achieve that, opening during snowstorms and holidays, catering to the locals as well as the college students. We are very lucky to have the Bloomsburg Diner!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and freindly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped in for a meal and what a surprise. The food specials of the day were very good. The town is a college town so lots of things to see and do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I made a detour through Bloomsburg to get breakfast on a weekend road trip to visit colleges. At about 8 AM the diner was hopping with locals, but we did not have to wait for a table. The service was quick and professional, and the food we ordered (Belgian Waffle, fried egg with an English muffin) exceeded expectations. The coffee was yum. And the check was a nice surprise ~$8 for the two of us (cash only.)
Not a destination place but I would highly recommend it if you are in the vicinity and looking for basic diner breakfast food done well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food but lousy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a sandwich and the stuffed cabbage - both with a salad. The salads were lots if iceberg lettuce with a couple pieces of tomato and onion. The sandwich came before we were finished with the salad. When the sandwich was half gone the server told us they were waiting for the tomato sauce to heat (? No microwave?). Sandwich almost gone when a young man from the kitchen served the stuffed cabbage, apologizing that he had misread the order as stuffed pepper. My empty water glass sat on the edge of the table for quite awhile before I took it to the counter for a refill! If you get there before 5PM you need to feed the meter in the town parking lot

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zhgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica S, Owner at Bloomsburg Diner, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I want to start off by apologizing for the service you received and thank you for making us aware of the situation. Unfortunately we can not be there all day every day so we can only hope that our staff is doing exactly what is expected of them. It seems in this situation, they may have fell short. We are hoping that one day you will return to give us another chance to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Typical Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nothing fancy about the Bloomsburg Diner. Has a dated, "old time" vibe. Everything is a bit worn. We were visiting Bloomsburg University and this was the closest diner.

The clientele seems mostly local. Wait staff was pleasant, service was good. The proprietor spent some time helping a vacationing couple get their bearings on the area.

Didn't expect much from the food, but it was better than expected. I had the cheesesteak, my son, a burger and fries. Less than $20 with tip for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunt201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomsburg Diner also viewed

 

Been to Bloomsburg Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing