We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Knoebel's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bloomsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trip to Knoebel's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was really nice... rooms were clean... bathrooms were beautiful and very modern. We had a nice breakfast in the morning. My only complaint was that we couldn't get the internet in the room to work. It would go on for a few minutes, but wouldn't last.

My daughter enjoyed a swim in the pool... small but nice. A very relaxing, clean hotel. Staff was friendly and pleasant. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manney91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
26
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

First the positives - friendly front desk staff, reasonably nice lobby and breakfast area, comfortable beds with linen and pillows of the typical HIEX stock. The comfort of a bed factors into at least half of the score on my reviews and here they score well for the type of property, say 8 out of 10.  But now onto the rest of the story.

I travel a lot, and have stayed at many Holiday Inn properties. The Bloomsburg Holiday Inn Express is what I would describe as a lower tier or budget property charging middle tier rates. Their slightly out of alignment pricing is likely a supply/demand issue as well as compensating for a much weaker occupancy rate during the winter months.

As the subject of my review implies we found some very significant odor issues. The bathrooms are dated with suspended ceilings, no exhaust fan to speak of, and since there's nowhere for shower steam to go the wallpaper is peeling in spots. Like too many Holiday Inn properties the bathroom has a strong mildew smell. My theory on this is the cloth/fabric shower curtains which are meant to be washed on a regular basis in reality are not, or the cleaning staff just aren't trained in preventing mildew odors. It really is odd running into this on such a regular basis, this hotel being by far the worst offender. The one semi-positive of the bathroom is their shower pressure, but again you don't want to stay long because of the smell.

And speaking of smells, this hotel is one of the last of a dying breed that allows smoking in some of their rooms.  While they limit this to the 3rd floor anyone knows that smoke filters everywhere in any type of building, thus why most hotels have gone 100% non-smoking. When we walked into our room on the 2nd floor we were hit with a very stale, odd and largely unpleasant odor. Nothing so bad that warranted finding another hotel (not a good plan no matter what based on this property listed as #2) but it was still not right.

Finally the wifi was very spotty, but again a common problem with many hotels.

All in all I can't recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Bloomsburg.  An update to their bathrooms, going 100% non-smoking, and finding a way to bring in fresh air into the rooms would help a lot.  For now it's a place to sleep and just barely that. For $150/night they should be offering much more, or simply charging much less.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our group decided to try a new hotel for our annual trip to Knoebel's and were pretty happy with the Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Each came with a microwave and fridge/freezer combo that was nice since we always have to bring food for our son, who is on a special diet, and because we usually have dinner back at the hotel. The staff I encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The 10 - 15 minute drive to Knoebel's was a definite plus since we tend to be late risers and don't like to miss park time driving back and forth to the hotel.

The few items that didn't quite meet my expectations were the temperature of the indoor pool (didn't swim because it was definitely more chilly than I preferred), the chlorine smell in the pool area was overwhelming, and the breakfast options. They are very carb-heavy (cinnamon rolls were AWESOME!) and the only protein choices were sausage and eggs on Saturday and then sausage gravy and eggs on Sunday. There was oatmeal, yogurt, and bananas available, too.

All in all, if you are looking for a nice budget-friendly hotel this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlhandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wonderful clean hotel with comfortable bedding, fridge/microwave and excellent staff. Great place to stay for Bloomsburg University parents, the Bloomsburg Fair, Knoebles and only 1.5 hours to Penn State University. Many places to eat and easy off & on Rt. 80. Actually the Buckhorn exit off Rt. 80. A hot & cold breakfast included. Instead of waffles they have a machine that makes fresh pancakes on demand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wow, what a great stay we had. There was a party of about 20 of us in our family that took a trip to Elysburg, PA where we went to Knoebels and then spent the evening at the Holiday Inn Express in Bloomsburg. We got in late, woke up the next morning to a great breakfast complimentary of the hotel and then took the children swimming. The hotel rooms were very clean and the beds were so comfy. I appreciate that after walking around Knoebels all day!. Way to go Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: take showers in the morning, it was loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Chosen for it's proximity to Knoebels, we had a nice stay for two nights. The breakfasts were decent (the second morning had biscuits and gravy that no one was really eating) and kept us going until lunch time. When we first entered our room, it was heavily deodorized to the point I sneezed and the air conditioner was on full blast. We left for dinner soon thereafter, turning off the air conditioner for a few hours. Upon our return, I turned on the air again and headed off to bed. All night long, the air conditioner emitted a musty smell and I realized the toilet was running constantly. The next morning, I explained the situation to the desk staff who said they would send maintenance to fix the problems and moved us to a suite - they even asked us to pack up our luggage and moved the luggage into the new room and put our drinks into the new fridge to keep it cold. Overall, I would return for our next visit to the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IndigoOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wind Gap, Pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

A great hotel near Knoebels theme park. Easy directions from the hotel to the park and vice versa. Great staff to welcome you and make sure that your stay is enjoyable. The hotel lobby and rooms were very clean. The only thing that I did not like, was that the sheets were very worn on the bed. I prefer crisp, new sheets. I would stay at this hotel again if I went to Knoebels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomsburg
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#3 of 7 in Bloomsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 7 in Bloomsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 7 in Bloomsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.7 mi away
Budget Host Patriot Inn
Budget Host Patriot Inn
#5 of 7 in Bloomsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
7.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
Address: 14 Mitchell Dr, Bloomsburg, PA 17815-8318
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bloomsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bloomsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg, Pa is conveniently located off exit 232 on Interstate 80 in Central Pennsylvania. With over 12 restaurants and eateries within walking distance, hotel guests receive 10% off their purchase at Perkins Restaurant and Bakery and Quaker Steak and Lube. Just minutes from area attraction such as Bloomsburg University, Knoebels Amusement Park and the Bloomsburg Fairgrounds host of the annual 4X4 Monster Truck Show and the Bloomsburg Fair. Meeting space is available. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg Hotel Bloomsburg
Holiday Inn Bloomsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing