We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Italian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Taste of Italy

A Taste of Italy
Ranked #12 of 90 Restaurants in Bloomsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Springdale, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I ate here after rave reviews from friends and co-workers. We found the food to be just average. I had bruschole and she a pasta dish. My food was overcooked and dry. Taste was good. Sauce was ok, a littl ewatery for my liking. It is a small place and filled up fast. Service was very good. Perhaps we ate on the chef's off night. Not sure. I drive by every day and they are always busy so I think we just picked the wrong food or off night. Prices are a little high but this is more of a formal sit down restaurant in my opinion for Bloomsburg. I will need some convincing to go back.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank plague07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is up there with the best Italian food I ever ate in any Italian restaurant. My wife and I really enjoy dining there. The staff is very pleasant and professional and the service is always quick. Whenever "out of town" friends and family come to see us they always want to go there.

Like some other reviewers have mentioned it's a BYOB restaurant. That's not such a bad thing as it allows you to bring your favorite spirits at a much lower price than you would pay buy the glass.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Out shined the Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

A Taste of Italy catered Bloomsburg Hospital's 5th Annual Wine Tasting benefit in March. There was everything from Cold Antipasto, Chicken Murrphy, Roast Pork Loin, Mushroom stuffed Striped Ravioli and Cheese stuffed Tortoloni to Salmon over a bed of Spinach and much more. It really does say something about the quality of food when it out shines the wine. A job well done by John and his staff. I have also eaten at the restaurant many times and have always been pleased with the service and fine Italian Cuisine. Give it a try I am sure you will be pleased too!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Worth the price, but BYOB.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Bring your own wine bottle, as they have no liquor license. The food was good, service good, ambiance could use a little work to establish the Italian feel. Would recommend this place if you are in the mood for Italian.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love It!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have been here a bunch of times and love the food and great service.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aroundandback11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing