We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pump House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Bloomsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were in town for a party and decided to stay the night at the Pump House. What a wonderfully, relaxing place to stay!! Our room, had an abundance of natural light, was clean and well furnished and decorated with unique artwork. The tile work and stained glass window in the over-sized shower were absolutely beautfiul. Breakfast was amazing!! Doug did a great job with everything...from a lovely sweet bread, fruit and smoothies, to an incredible omelet filled with different cheeses, mushrooms, sausage and tomatos....and it was all plately beautifully!! Even the coffee was delicious. We were told there was no rush to check out as there was no one checking into our room on Sunday so we walked the property and then relaxed in our room some more. It was only one night, but we felt completely relaxed and recharged when we left the Pump House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumphousebandb, Owner at Pump House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Bearcountry,

We sure do appreciate that you took the time to write a detailed review of your visit with us here at Pump House. Restoring this property, along with creating the stained glass windows and the tile showers, was a labor of love from beginning to end. The fact that you wrote of your appreciation of it makes the hard work worthwhile. If you took any photos while you were here, please post them to Google, Facebook ("Like" us!) and Twitter. Let's keep in touch through social media and not be strangers. Thank you for choosing us; there were other places you could have stayed and we appreciate your business. Come see us again! Pump House is lovely any time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
34
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I tried for 20 minutes to think of one word to describe the Pump House. There were just too many choices - beautiful, peaceful, calming - but I kept coming back to serene.

To start with, the setting is absolutely gorgeous. It sits back off the road at the end of a gravel driveway. The 2 houses that greet you make you feel like you've stepped back in time. You'll find the grounds to be immaculate with great old buildings to explore - one of which houses Doug's studio, the other has a small banquet hall perfect for weddings. If you wander past the buildings, you'll even come across a big old oil tank that's been opened up to use for storage. Then, you have the Catawissa Creek along the back of the property. Not only is it picture perfect, but hearing it running at night is amazing.

Upon our arrival, Doug showed us to the 3 season house. We had the upstairs front room. It's still pretty new, so no name yet. Name or no name - it was gorgeous. We had a huge bedroom, lovely sitting area and perfectly sized bathroom. The bed was beyond comfortable with a thick comforter and plenty of pillows. There were antiques scattered around in just the right places. I would use the sitting area at night to read while my husband was sleeping. It worked out great. The bathroom - WOW. I fell in love with the shower. All handmaid tiles that Doug made in his studio. Just amazing. I would love to have a shower like that - pictures don't even do it justice. You really need to see it in person. We did not have a TV in the room, but didn't even miss it. I had brought along a small speaker to listen to some music while we relaxed. I think there may be a TV going in, but in my opinion, it's better without. We also didn't have cell service - so we were totally off the grid. It was perfect for a romantic getaway (our 22n anniversary).

Doug asks you the night before when you'd like to have breakfast, but that is flexible if needed. In the morning, we walked the 20 steps around to the back of his house and were seated in the sunroom. Had it not been damp out, we probably could have eaten on the deck. But, the sunroom was gorgeous, with his handmade tiles and art decorating it. He's a very talented guy. We started with coffee, tea and his homemade cranberry, nut bread. Delicious! This was followed by the main course of his loaded scrambled eggs. They were huge and awesome. They were served with home fries and sausage. We were both stuffed. It was exactly what we needed for our day of hiking at Ricketts Glen.

There wasn't one thing I would have changed about our stay there. The grounds are gorgeous, the house amazing, and your host is wonderful. If you can plan a weekend here, do it, you won't regret it. Don't forget to ask Doug about the history of the place, it's really, really interesting. We would go back in a minute and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumphousebandb, Owner at Pump House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
What sweet folks you are to have left such a wonderful detailed review and to have posted all those wonderful photos! Restoring this place took years of hard work and sharing it with folks like you makes it more than worth it. Thank you so much for taking the time to do us such a kind favor. There are plenty of other places you could have stayed and we are so appreciative of all the wonderful folks who choose us. Please come see us again so we can spoil you. And don't forget to "Like" us on Facebook and keep in touch via Twitter, Foursquare and Google.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The cabin was lovely and the perfect size for 2 people. I really didn't want to leave. The quiet and natural beauty of the area combined with a very artistic living space creates a very cozy warmth seldem acheived. I fully plan on going back as an escape. PS the home cooked breakfast was unbelivable,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andratte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We love this place and always look forward to going back whenever we can - which is not as often as we'd like. It's such an antidote to our New York City life; an oasis of peace and relaxation that when we're there, we don't even feel like leaving and just love enjoying being in the country and in such a lovely place. Everything is home made (even the tiles on the walls) and Doug's breakfasts's are such a treat! I recommend you visit. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: They are all sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magali1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This bed and breakfast proved to be challenging to find. They are located on State Road but it runs through two townships and our gps directed us to the wrong one. Doug was very patient with our phone calls and, with his direction, we eventually found the bed and breakfast. They are located in a gorgeous spot but remote from anything so I would suggest eating before you arrive there as it's a long drive to anywhere with dining.
We spoke to the owners to get the history of the place. Doug has restored most of the buildings and his artistic background shows with the paint colours, gorgeous tiles and lovely finishes. It was so nice to sit on the rockers on the front porch drinking wine and listening to the cicadas. Breakfast was a made to order omelette with fruit and a lovely fruit bread Doug has just pulled from the oven. We toured the grounds and his studio before leaving.
It is definitely a place you want to visit for a couple of days. If you can't relax and unwind here, you can't do it anywhere. Thanks Doug and Marika.

Room Tip: Every room is a lovely room and the setting is peaceful and beautiful. You'll love the paint col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canajungirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

the room was spacious and unique with beautiful tilework. Breakfast was superb! The hosts were wonderful and very accommodating, and the grounds were lovely. It's a bit off the beaten path but the drive through the hills was breathtaking .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Another trip back to my hometown, another stay at the Pump House. Again, Doug and Marika the ultimate in making us feel at home and comfortable. We arrived on July 4th exhausted from our long travel day and quickly found peace in the lightning bugs and tranquility of the property. During our stay a horrendous thunderstorm came through and knocked out power. Doug quickly notified everyone as to what was going on that evening. The next morning, not missing a beat Doug, Marika, and family made it fun..."Pioneer Days" as Doug said with a broad smile while figuring out somehow to make breakfast for his dozen or so guests. Being somewhat experienced in the area of great customer experiences (http://soundcheckblog.com/industryresearch/making-big-small/) I would continue to give the Pump House a resounding endorsement. They effortlessly deliver what so many try to achieve...see you next year!

Room Tip: Swing set at back of the property as well as horseshoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPoisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloomsburg hotels
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 8 in Bloomsburg
289 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 8 in Bloomsburg
581 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#3 of 8 in Bloomsburg
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
5.6 mi away
Budget Host Patriot Inn
Budget Host Patriot Inn
#6 of 8 in Bloomsburg
86 reviews
9.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 8 in Bloomsburg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pump House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pump House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pump House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 623C State Road, Bloomsburg, PA 17815
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bloomsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Elysburg's Knoebels Grove family fun park, Ricketts Glen State Park with its waterfalls trail & Bloomsburg FairOur two 3-room suites and four rooms with ensuite baths offer many country pleasures in a private, intimate setting. Our rooms are decorated with your comfort in mind, and showcase original art and tile work by Innkeeper Doug Hopkins. Wade in the Catawissa Creek or roast marshmallows in the fire ring. Play ping pong, foosball, bongo drums and the piano in the attached game room, or try your hand at darts. Cook your own dinner on the gas stove or use the BBQ grill outside on your patio. Inquire for special hands-on art classes for ceramics or stained glass with Doug. Now offering a gorgeous venue for your country chic wedding. Tie the knot under the trees or in our new 1,600 square foot Celebration Space! We can do everything for you or allow your outside vendors to help customize your unique wedding weekend. That's right - you have the place for the entire weekend for setting up and enjoying friends and family in a beautiful and relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pump House b&b
Pump House Hotel Bloomsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing