We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great Bar B Q”
Review of Clem's Cafe

Clem's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Blairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good but not great Bar B Q”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ribs were okay - not juicy but not dry. Chicken was dry.
Selection of food available is inconsistent.
Side dishes are average - nothing memorable.
Wouldn't go out of my way to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The barbeque here was really tasty although not quite enough sauce for our liking. Next time we will ask for extra sauce. We could not find any butter for the rolls; perhaps you have to ask for that as well. The rolls were really fresh and went well with the bbq. Nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 18LisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good local barbeque”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very good ribs and chicken combo, not much atmosphere, but plenty of food. Next time I'll be sure to ask for the sauce on the side, as the chicken and ribs were swimming in it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Forest306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Ribs in Western Pennsyvlania”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

First of all, if you own a motorcycle and are looking for a destination ride, Clem's on Rt 22 is about and75 minute ride out of Pittsburgh. There are always motorcycles parked out front, a good sign.
The ribs are melt in your mouth delicious. The pulled pork is juicy and tasty. Their BBQ sauce is above average. The rolls are baked on location and are often hot out of the oven. They are excellent. The sides are eh. But they do have a nice selection of high quality soft drinks. No alcohol, which is a good thing if you are riding a motorcycle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“These Ribs have meat!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Been wanting to stop here for several years and today was the day. We were not disappointed with the Ribs, puled pork or chicken served up here. The place is a lot like southern BBQ houses as you order at s walk up counter, pick-up your meat, slide down to the sides area and grab a side or two, then over to the cashier for payment and a beverage. Then you try and find a pleace to sit down. This place was packed when we arrived, but were lucky enough to find an open booth.

The pulled pork sandwich was delicious, just the right amount of smoke and sauce and the hoagie roll was a perfect accompaniment for the sandwich. The ribs were meaty, the meatiest ribs I have had in more than 20 years and they were very tasty and not overly smoked or sauced. The half chickens was ordered with and without sauce. The portion without sause was a bit dry, but still flavorful and had a smokey flavor. They other was dripping in sauce and wonderful.

The sides here were the only disappointing part of the meals. Baked beans cooked with chickpeas? That turned us off. Italian pasta salad was run of the mill tossed in bottled dressing and salad supreme spice. The cole slaw... let's just say skip it. they offer two types of potato salad. I swear they bought both from a discount market, one flavored with sour cream and the other with mustard. The mustard was the only winner here. If you can, get and extra bun, they were great with or without a meat nestled in them.

All in all, Clem's hit the spot. I will go back for the ribs, pulled pork and chicken. We didn't try the pulled beef and sausage, but next time we plan to try them. However, I'll skip the sides, except fr the mustard potato salad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limo_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clem's Cafe also viewed

Blairsville, PA
Blairsville, PA
 

Been to Clem's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing